We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A delightful evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went here last week with a friend and parents. We were seated to a beautiful table. Not only were we offered the a la carte menu, we were also given the bar food menu. This was perfect as my dad is a bar food man! We were given a glass of persecco as it was and occasion, on the house. We were then treated to pinacolada sorbet to cleanse the pallet. The food was tasy and well presented. Very attentive staff which is something rare these days! A particular compliment to the food and beverage manager, he is a gent! Also the duty manager that night. He was always around making sure the busy food outlet was looked after. James is a credit to the hotel, he really has the customers interest at heart. Well done you are all a credit to the hotel. Highly recommend a visit, if not for over night, go for the food!

Room Tip: Get the carbonara it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsmc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    529
    199
    61
    31
See reviews for
189
590
44
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed last night at the harbour.outstanding value .service.atmosphere but most of all outstanding staff.thank you for a great night.we ll be back even though we're local....fantastic meal and a very good waitress

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A perfect weekend With great service and a wonderfull hotell!!!!! The breakfast was exellent and the rom was perfect!! Great beds! The location was perfect With 3 minutes To the centrum and the lovely Harbour just outside the door! A great hotell!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a couple we stayed at this hotel for one night as a getaway and we received a lovely welcome from the staff. We requested a room with a view over the water, the room itself was compact but it was clean and comfortable and we had a great night’s sleep. The location is very convenient for town, just a short walk. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning, where they accommodated my gluten free diet and cooked my fried eggs perfectly. We were very happy with the service and would recommend this hotel. The only issue I would have is the car park, which is available for a reasonable €5 overnight fee. The car park is difficult to park in as the spaces are too narrow and there are so many pillars to avoid. When we arrived there were cars just parked randomly and it was challenging to get around.

Room Tip: Rooms either have a view over the car park or the harbour the other side, you will need to make a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I just had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful Galway family owned hotel for my first trip to Galway. The staff greeted me warmly and offered me a scrumptious afternoon tea with scones and jam upon arrival which I gratefully accepted. They also helped me with my luggage up to my room which was welcomed after my long journey that had commenced in Manchester England where I flew to Shannon and then drove up to Galway.

This beautifully appointed hotel is only 11 years old and offers modern comforts for the business or pleasure traveler. It is just steps away from the lively City Center of Galway full of Pubs, Shops, Restaurants and Entertainment. It sits next to the Harbour and is not far from the famous Spanish Arch and Galway Museum (well worth a visit if one enjoys learning about the history of a place).

The room was spacious and the Wi-Fi (very important for a travel writer) worked like a dream. It offers complementary parking in a private parking garage and if driving is easy to find. It is also an easy walk from the train station should one arrive by rail.

The staff were knowledgeable and made great recommendations for things to see, places to eat and pubs to enjoy music sessions in.

The Harbour Hotel also works with local tour companies and can organize exciting day trips to the breathtaking countryside of Connemara (including the romantic Kylemore Abbey - still run by nuns), or an excursion to the tragic beauty of the Burren with its 6000 year old Dolman Tomb, or a visit to the famous Cliffs of Moher, or an exciting boat ride to the Aaron Islands.

They have an acclaimed Seafood Restaurant and serve beautiful Afternoon Teas (in which I participated and greatly enjoyed). They also have room service, should one wish to take a meal in their room.

Overall a great experience. Highly recommended from a seasoned traveler. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIDO_MOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was the only one that I could find with on site parking.I was pleasantly surprised.It is a beautiful hotel facing the docks in Galway and yet it is only less than five minutes walk from the shopping areas.Staff are friendly.Food is delicious and beds are comfortable.I would love to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbgarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed on the 19th whilst attending the Connacht v Ulster game. Good location for the City attractions / bars and easy to get to the Sports ground. Clean functional and reasonably priced. Had breakfast as part of the rate which was fine even for those of us with post match hangovers ! Would use again.

Room Tip: All appear similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing