We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited this hotel with my friend over the long weekend. The management and staff were absolutely appalling and the treatment we received was nothing short of ignorance. The worst customer experience ever, as for Kevin the manager, a disgrace! I will never ever visit this establishment again, the service, the bill and the manner with which it was presented and explained, extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichelleD563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourGalway, General Manager at Harbour Hotel Galway, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Richelle,
I am disapointed in reading your review of our Hotel and Kevin our Receptionist.
I feel it is unfair as i do not know what we did wrong,however i would appreciate if you would contact myself directly on stefan@harbour.ie
Warm regards,
Stefan Lundstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    539
    200
    63
    33
See reviews for
194
603
45
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and i took a short break at the Harbour Hotel in Galway last week. Our over all experience was bliss every person connected with the hotel were very proffessional in every way made our stay there most relaxing i will reccommend it to family and friends. Keep up the excellent work that is been done at the hotal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. it is located about 5 minutes walk from Eyre Square and Shop Street - Galway's heart. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic and the staff in the restaurant and bar are, without exception very courteous and friendly. Some of the reception staff could take a leaf on occasion.
this hotel is perfectly located if you are going to Galway for a weekend out or shopping or whatever- it is not a retreat.

Room Tip: The parking is located to the side of the hotel and we had some trouble with it. Firstly, finding a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pal18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one Night , Room is a little worn and the floor that we were located on was very noisy with party into the early hrs in one of the rooms, however the staff are very friendly and breakfast is good and the location is very central

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the harbour hotel in May 2012. Beautiful hotel, rooms lovely accept that mine was facing the fun fair that was in town at the time so it was a little noisy. Rooms were spacious, clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, however the service was a little poor when waiting for tea and coffee. We sat a table that was free but were waiting up to 15 mins for it to be cleared. Apart from that.. all staff were friendly and welcoming. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOOMOO7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Harbour Hotel is in a central location, walking distance to town, bars etc.
From our arrival at this hotel we had a few minor incidents which meant that we needed to draw this to the attention of the hotel staff. Staff quite rude and disinterested. I don't think they mentioned the word sorry once. Impossible to get a drink in the bar as no staff available - with the exception of Sunday early afternoon a lovely young chap tended to our needs (food and drink) and also later Sunday afternoon. The hotel doesn't seem to be understaffed, it is more the attitude of the staff working front of house which really lets down this hotel. Not 4 star service unfortunately, will not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLite_123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned from a business stay in this hotel. Regularly stay so pleased to notice all the little changes they have made (new dining room decorations, cookies in room, face cloths in bathroom, complimentary bottled water).

However I have decided not to give them my business again purely because of (a) the noise level in the hotel and (b) some staff's attitude when highlighting the noise.

I told the receptionist Kevin ,this morning when I checked out that my room 133 was very noisy (car park outside and air conditioning unit directly ouside window) and I didn't get any sleep. I got zero response from him and no apology. I had booked another night in November and asked i could have a quiet room.

It's a shame that the receptionist had such a compliance attitude as the rest of my experience in the hotel (apart from the noisy room) was positive. Lovely food in the restaurant the night before and Tina and Lucas the waiters were fab. Breakfast was decent and the furnishings in the hotel look great.

I decided to cancel my booking in November (again with the same receptionist Kevin) who was totally unfazed and didn't ask why. I'll be spending my money elsewhere when I stay in Galway in the future.

My suggestion would be to ensure your FOH staff are more euthustic when listening to customer (valid) complainants!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuddlyBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing