We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room standard was good and the level of staff service was high especially in the restaurant. All the staff we met were lovely young people and they displayed a level of service that showed they had been well trained.The special meal on offer for 20 euros in the restaurant was good value.The hotel is a short walk to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Nice clean rooms, comfortable beds. Good location for Galway for going out at night. Great breakfast.

Would recommend paying the €10 extra for harbour view.

Parking on site is €5 per day.
Drinks in bar above average but not for a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the weekend. Ok but there are much better hotels for the same or less money in better Galway city locations.
Staff not rude but not exactly overly helpful.
Rooms small and poor sound proofing.
Bar ok just.
Food ok

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinsunshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The most expensive hotel we picked during our visit to Ireland. The location, rooms and breakfast was exactly what I expect from a 4 star hotel in Ireland.
We got help from the reception when we asked for it, WiFi was complimentary but the views from the rooms we had were perhaps not the most fun.

However, I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Perfect hotel to visit Galway city. Super friendly staff and beauitful rooms. bar and food can't wait to go back . Got an excellent deal for an over night stay and we were just sorry that we could not have stay the second night but we will def be back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lfhayes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Harbour Hotel for two nights in mid-September as part of a longer trip around the west coast of Ireland. The hotel was perfect for all our needs. Our room was clean, comfortable and larger than the wee room we'd just come from in Dublin. The hotel is a 5-minute walk to the city centre, yet it is just set far enough away to be away from the noise of the pubs and restaurants. Breakfast was included with our room and the food was good. We asked the front-desk staff for help a few times (mostly about directions) and they were knowledgeable and friendly. In one of our guide books we saw that the Harbour Hotel was rated "top-end" (we noticed this long after we'd already booked the room). I would probably not label it high-end as in a posh, city hotel. But, it definitely seemed to be one of the nicest hotels in Galway and we were very impressed. The only suggestion I would make is to include more options, such as soy milk, for those with dietary restrictions at breakfast. I have already recommended the Harbour Hotel to family members and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked an apartment complex, so the view was not very scenic (and definitely not overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murnaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed at The Harbour on many occasions. The accommodation, the brilliant Staff, the location for ease of access to both City and other interesting areas leaves little to be desired. We will continue to return to the Harbour whenever we are in Ireland!!

Room Tip: Ask and your wish will be granted wherever and whenever possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Address: New Dock Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $118 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome and fantastic customer service throughout your stay at the Harbour Hotel Galway. We are conveniently located in the heart of Galway City, perfect for a getaway break with so much to do on our doorstep. 96 bedrooms and executive rooms, onsite parking and fitness suite. Stay connected with complimentary high speed Wi-Fi provided throughout. Dine in Dillisk on the Docks, our restaurant and bar with stylishly rustic décor and comfortable furnishings. Dillisk on The Docks combines both modern-creative and traditional styles of cooking using only local producers. Galway’s newest social hub, with outdoor heated garden, social seating with pockets of inviting living room seating and a wide choice of cocktails, gins, wines and whiskeys. Location: Galway is famous for its culture, atmosphere, artistic heritage and breathtaking landscapes along the Wild Atlantic Way. There is so much to explore, experience and enjoy on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing