We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Hotel Galway
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
“Very good stay.”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hotel was exactly as advertised on its own website as well as the independent reviews from Tripadvisor. Breakfast selection was vast and busy at peak times but not much of a problem. Staff very friendly and helpful giving detailed information re Galway city etc.
Location very handy for short walk to City centre (<5 min) Car park at rear of hotelv works out at E5 per day using discount from hotel. We will be back when in Galway again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POBYRNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    559
    204
    65
    34
See reviews for
202
619
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were greeted warmly with scones and coffee upon our CIE tour's arrival. The fire was in the fireplace, and our keys were laid out for our rooms! What a lovely welcome! The pluses for this accommodating modern hotel is the walking distance to the downtown area, comfortable (ok a little small) rooms with good size bathrooms (though some figuring out was needed for the shower) and a nice restaurant and bar just downstairs. The one negative was how long it took to get served dinner, and while we were a group, it took an hour and half to get thru dinner. I did have to find someone at breakfast to bring coffee as well. For what this service lacked in swiftness, it was made up for with sincerity. We found the food to be very good, the pub was very nice and we truly enjoyed our stay. We'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We booked the hotel with the extra package "superior room", which promises, in the website, a "additional comfort and space", for being "larger than standard rooms". The room is big, but the bed is quite small, and one tub chair which made the room look very empty: the extra space was useless, and we didn't have the "In-room sofa" as promised in the website. The TV is small and with no remote control... In the bathroom, there was a small bath, but we were very disappointed, because we're unable to use it: the plug was too small to fit the drain. We rang to the reception to ask for another plug, but nobody answered our calls. Another extra in the superior room was a bowl of fruit, which was delivered clearly uncleaned. They have a Jacuzzi in the Spa, it is small and unhygienic. Despite the good location of the hotel, the night - and the next morning - was very noisy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a great hotel, fantastic location - under 10 mins walk to city centre. Stayed in the G hotel last year & breakfast in this hotel was just as good. Also, as parking is expensive & hard to find in Galway, hotel let us park, after check out, while we went shopping. Can't fault it

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IrelandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We found the hotel easily. It's a good location, only 5-10 minutes' walk into town. When I booked I asked for a water view and we got one.

There were lots of positives - the receptionist was friendly and efficient, the room was a decent size, with tea and coffee making facilities, and the midday check-out is great if (like us) you're recovering from a late night or two. Everything was clean and we got reduced parking (€5 for the night).

The only downside was that an industrial ship docked sometime in the early morning, with noise and clanking. Of course this is not the fault of the hotel - I did ask for a water view after all - but something to be aware of if you do want to look over the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

if you drive, you'll be hit with a 'stealth' payment for parking your car. Hotel claim to have sold car-park but will charge you €5 extra a night to stay in thecarpark that has a dedicated access to the carpark. Other than that, an alarm went off at 5.30am and the staff later claimed it was an apartment complex next door and not their alarm that went off....so no need for an apology for the unplanned wake-up you up in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Transplants
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were on a coach tour of Ireland and this was our hotel in Galway. Unfortunately several of our group were ill, so we did not get out to see Galway, just stayed in the room trying to get well. And as luck has it this was the smallest room we had during the trip and the one that most needed upgrading. Group of 3 so we had a "family" room only this one was tiny. It was clean enough, just dated furnishings, etc. Did not eat at restaruant, but did have room service and it was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,747 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel Galway

Property: Harbour Hotel Galway
Address: 17 New Road | The Harbour, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Galway
#14 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#16 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Hotel Galway, is centrally located in the heart of Galway City - just a 3 minute walk to Eyre Square, Shop St. & Quay St. A family owned hotel, the focus is on customer service. Guests return to the Harbour Hotel, time and time again. Whilst the hotel is right in the heart of Galway City Centre, you will be able to enjoy a peaceful night's sleep as the hotel is located at the historical port in a primarily residential area, removed from the roar of the famous Galway nightlife in full flow. With a range of double, twin, triple, superior doubles and family rooms available, The Harbour Hotel Galway is the perfect choice for a leisure break or a business trip. All of the guest bedrooms feature complimentary high speed wireless internet access so you can work in comfort or keep in touch with loved ones at your leisure. A snapshot of our rooms: • Complimentary Wi-Fi (Wireless High Speed Internet) • Tea and coffee making facilities with Nespresso Machines in Superior Bedrooms • Pillow topped beds with fuffy duvets & crisp white linen • Writing Desk • Cable TV • Trouser Press • Hairdryer • Bathroom amenities Onsite parking is available to the rear of the hotel. Stay in touch with friends and family with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel The Harbour Bar & Restaurant at the Harbour Hotel offers the very best of city centre dining in Galway. The perfect venue for a casual lunch or lingering romantic dinner. Head Chef Paddy Anslow's focus is on homemade, wholesome food using the very best of fresh, local produce. The ambiance is casual and you will feel instantly at ease on arrival. Recently renovated, with private booths and a warm, yet contemporary feel, the Harbour Bar & Restaurant is very popular with locals and residents alike. The Harbour Bar; Wind down at the Harbour Bar, the perfect place to chill out, catch up with friends and soak up the atmosphere. After a busy day, enjoy a glass of wine or a fun cocktail with friends. Watch up to the minute sports live on one of the two large Plasma Screens. Bar Menu served daily from 12noon until 10pm. Haven Health & Fitness allows you to work out in a personal environment at your own pace. Facilities of the gym include cardiovascular machines, weights and a stretching area. Conveniently located in the heart of Galway this small yet exclusive Fitness Club is designed with your modern busy lifestyle in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing