We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Galway”
Review of Connemara Food Co - CLOSED

Connemara Food Co
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: European, Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Seasonal dishes served in casual setting. Take home pre-prepared meals. All dishes are created using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible!
saskatoon
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Visit to Galway”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have been in this building and enjoyed the character and style.
It took me back years in setting and suited the Galway character.
I would recommend as very Irish and is woth visiting
Norman Wallace

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank normanwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chalford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit - or two!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Found the Bistro by chance and had a lovely lunch. Decided to venture back again for an evening meal and it was suberb. Good choice and the sea food special was wonderful. To cap a great night the service was first class too. Many thanks Lorraine our 'star' waitress.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and A+ Service”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The soup was hot and tasty with plenty of butter and cream. The main courses were diverse and delicious. A nice selection of wine and a VERY attentive waitstaff. This little gem of a restaurant has never disappointed me or the groups I accompany.
For busy evenings there is a car park behind the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcvjpbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is well worth a visit if you are travelling to or from Connemara. Simple, unpretensious food cooked to perfection by Glenn, the proprietor, to order. I had the sea bass, accompanied by a glass of house white, and it was delicious; great flavour and presentation, served by staff who know and enjoy their job. Relaxed atmosphere is enhanced by a nice selection of books to browse and interesting art to view while waiting for your meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Glenn and his staff of lovely/friendly waitresses are delightful. The food (seafood chowder and salmon salad) were the best I've had in a very long time. My husband had lamb shank which he equally enjoyed. This is the best place to dine in Oughterard, and the prices are VERY reasonable. We're going back soon - I'd like some more chowder and will also try one of their desserts. Very lovely atmosphere (check out Glenn's artwork) - Glenn came out a visited with us for a bit - this place can't be beat!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara Food Co also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing