We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal, but zero atmosphere”
Review of Elwoods Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Elwoods Bar and Grill
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
464 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Nice meal, but zero atmosphere”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dined in Elwoods part of a 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal in the hotel. There were a few diners there when we arrived, and while the restaurant looks rather appealing from the lobby, it just wasn’t a comfortable place to sit, and certainly didn’t have a ‘restaurant’ feel about it. It is arranged in booths with some free-standing tables. Unfortunately privacy wasn’t considered when this restaurant was designed and screening between the booths isn’t sufficient because we could hear what was said by diners in the next booth. To make matters worse a group of women arrived and the cackling and screeching of them made it an absolutely deafening place to be. Had the screening between the booths been higher, we wouldn’t have had this problem and the noise would have been dulled somewhat. No harm in having a bit of fun and a few laughs, but screeching at high decibel level is not enjoyable for anyone. Because we were on a ‘deal’ our menu options were very limited, but we both managed to find something to our taste. Service was good, and our meals were well cooked and presented. However there was definitely something missing in this restaurant, and it wouldn’t be a place we would choose for intimate dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
clonmel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice meal and friendly service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

we dined here on a saturday night in january. the atmosphere in the bar was great it was very comfortable and not too loud to enjoy a meal. it was busy enough and we did wait abut forty five minutes for our meal after we had ordered. granted it was a busy saturday night and we had been served our drinks so waiting wasnt an issue once the food was good. i ordered a medium rare steak it was to be served with mustard mash potato and bernaise sauce. the steak itself was cooked perfectly the mash was unfortunately just plain and the bernaise sauce was just not good. im not sure if it was bought in or home made but it wasnt very appetising atall. for the dessert i had my eye on the warm chocolate fondant but after finding out it wasnt homemade i opted for the homemade apple pie which was tasty. overall it was an enjoyable meal but it could be a little better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 22foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service too!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had an overnight at the Forster Court Hotel and dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast.
We had a special deal which included 2 courses which suited us as we had eaten in the afternoon. Husband had starter and main - noodle dish and fish dish - he really enjoyed it.
I had one of the best rib eye steak dishes I have ever had, tender and perfectly cooked and in fact asked the restaurant manager how it was done.
The dessert was profiteroles which we both shared and enjoyed.
We also had a lovely bottle of wine which was well-priced.
The restaurant manager was superb, friendly and efficient, and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Waitress served us at dinner and again at breakfast and was also first-class and very friendly.
If you're looking for good food at a good price - this is it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice looking place but..”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Trendy and modern design. The food was nothing to rave about unfortunately. There were no mussels available, so we got crab claws that were a bit too heavily breaded for our taste. The goat cheese lasagna had more vegetables than cheese. Order the blue cheese burger if you don't mind a really strong taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DL1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience with seriously tasty food!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We dined at the chefs table where we got to see him cook everything, the food was so tasty and the chef was so friendly and even looked slightly like Colin Farrell! =)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elwoods Bar and Grill also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing