We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal, great service too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elwoods Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Elwoods Bar and Grill
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had an overnight at the Forster Court Hotel and dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast.
We had a special deal which included 2 courses which suited us as we had eaten in the afternoon. Husband had starter and main - noodle dish and fish dish - he really enjoyed it.
I had one of the best rib eye steak dishes I have ever had, tender and perfectly cooked and in fact asked the restaurant manager how it was done.
The dessert was profiteroles which we both shared and enjoyed.
We also had a lovely bottle of wine which was well-priced.
The restaurant manager was superb, friendly and efficient, and nothing was too much trouble for him.
Waitress served us at dinner and again at breakfast and was also first-class and very friendly.
If you're looking for good food at a good price - this is it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    20
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice looking place but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Trendy and modern design. The food was nothing to rave about unfortunately. There were no mussels available, so we got crab claws that were a bit too heavily breaded for our taste. The goat cheese lasagna had more vegetables than cheese. Order the blue cheese burger if you don't mind a really strong taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DL1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience with seriously tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We dined at the chefs table where we got to see him cook everything, the food was so tasty and the chef was so friendly and even looked slightly like Colin Farrell! =)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really good Irish food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Great steak fish or chicken dinners and great value set menu the chicken wings are the best and the chocolate pudding is amazing....

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weeac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I ate dinner here for the first time last night and the food was delicious. I had the classic caesar salad to start and steak as a main. My partner had chicken wings to start and chicken as a main. We both had the Eton Mess for dessert and it was the perfect end to a perfect meal. The staff were attentive and very welcoming. The food was good value for money as well. We will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westie0582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elwoods Bar and Grill also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing