We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ribeye!”

Maxwells Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great ribeye!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our dinner! We were originally planning on dinner elsewhere, but when they were booked we happened upon Maxwells. Great find! The ribeyes were wonderful!!! Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    149
    39
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of bang for your buck”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The information centre in the Eyre square shopping centre suggested going here for lunch. Very nice food for the price we paid (10 euro lunch special: 1/2 sammy + soup, coffee/tea, and dessert) Everything was so tasty especially the sandwiches. Good size portions for what you pay. Staff were friendly and it was clean. Highly recommend this restaurant for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwells2, Owner at Maxwells Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words and I hope you enjoyed your visit to Galway

Kind Regards


Paul O' Meara
Prop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Everything here was beautiful. Children had a great choice from the kids menu and the adult menu was also very good. Very nice staff , and very clean

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fitzy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwells2, Owner at Maxwells Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and I am pleased our younger guests enjoyed themselves too. Families are always welcome at Maxwells and lots of healthy options for Children. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Paul O' Meara
Prop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Matter of fact, we went twice. There is a great menu and prices and an early or late night special that you can't go wrong. The food is plentiful and very delicious; good wine/beer selection also. The staff was friendly and let you sit and enjoy your meal without too much interruption. The location is not too far off of Eyre Square. If you like meat or fish, give Maxwells a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwells2, Owner at Maxwells Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Maxwells and hope the tour of Galway and Ireland was a great success.

Kind Regards

Paul O' Meara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Shopping trip in Galway last week and came upon Maxwells in the heart of the city.
Really nice lunch, 10-15Euro with a coffee, great atmosphere, excellent service, place
was buzzing. Good size portions and really tasty - looking forward to the next time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxwells2, Owner at Maxwells Restaurant, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to Maxwells. Remember we are open for Dinner seven nights as well. Hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards


Paul O' Meara
Prop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Maxwells Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing