We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Oscar's Seafood Bistro
Ranked #7 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

On a friday evening in the height of summer we had the pleasure of having a fantastic starter and mains . The raw materials were top class to create the most amazing starters, the wine recommendation suited perfectly and the service was top class all in a perfect setting. Well done!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philiphof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    198
    51
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We (adult family group of 6) got to Oscars early so we got seated without reservations. I would recommend reservations. I am not a fish fancier but had to try some here. I had monkfish with chorizo and chipotle. It was fabulous. The other family members all chose other dishes and we were amazed at how good each dinner was.

The service was personable and very pleasant. All of us agreed the meal and service w ere as good as we have ever experienced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Having read the reviews of Oscar's on Tripadvisor, I was expecting a lot more from this restuarant.
Its off the beaten track - not a bad thing - and is in what I would imagine was an old shop. The decor is very cheap looking/budget.
Three of us had a reservation for dinner.
NB! Make a reservation is you want to eat here!!!
It was full when we arrived.
Two of us had the seafood chowder for starter - it was EXCELLENT. One of us had a salmon starter that had a sort of tomato salsa 'stuffing' - it too was excellent.
Two of us had their "Fish & Chips" for main course. One was Pollack, the other Hake. Very little batter on the fish (unusual?) the chips were 'ordinary', tiny salad on the side. The fish was certainly very very fresh. The 3rd diner had a vegetarian pasta dish that was very good.
The service was rushed and not very friendly

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oscars missed the mark”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

First night in Galway & wanted a special dinner focused on seafood so we picked Oscar's. While the wait staff was friendly and eager they were not very knowledgable about the menu. Started with oysters that were not very cold and rather tasteless. The seafood chowder that followed was wonderful and made up for the disappointing starter. We should have stopped there. My spouse had sole that was over cooked and served on a bed of mashed potatoes with a sauce of tomatoes and olives. The only good thing about the sauce was that it masked the over cooked fish. However the waiter noticed that the dish was not eaten and volunteered to take it off the bill--points for that. My scallops and mussels were ok but also came on top of mashed potatoes--a very odd presentation. With wonderful local ingredients available, I don't understand why they could not have just kept it simple.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nan006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and exciting”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Really fresh seafood and what's the best, local! Sushi with irish seaweed is way better than japanese seaweed :) really good oysters too and exciting sauce with prawns. Would definitely recommend this to a seafood enthousiast.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Serenit131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Seafood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing