We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and high quality food!”

Oscar's Seafood Bistro
Ranked #7 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and high quality food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The quality of the food cannot be disputed, the staff are friendly and personable. The presentation is not what it used to be, as it used to be extremely alaberate, but is still of a very high standard.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    793
    195
    50
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Fish in Galway”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Excellent fish dishes with the friendliest service. A must place to eat for everyone in Galway. Items on the menu were great, the nightly specials even better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely, down to earth and kitch”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ambience
Very down to earth, not too fancy. The decorations are with bright colours and very kitch. Gives a positive friendly feeling.

Service
Absolutely fantastic.Friendly, cozy, knowledgeable.

Food
Lovely. Not too fancy, rather generous portions. Starters grab in a pot (cold) was fantastic and seafood showder like your mom would make. Main course change daily and are extremely fresh.

Price
Very ok for the quality. Starters grab 10.50 and chowder around 8EUR. Main course turbot 24EUR.

Would I recommend?
Yes, very much so. Do go there if you are into sea food. If I'm ever back to Galway I will 100% visit them again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Espoo_FinlandMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good service, tasty food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The restaurant has a colourful decor. It is not particularly spacious but comfortable enough. The service was warm, friendly and helpful. There is a good 'daily specials' board. The food is tasty but a little on the pricey side. The lemon sole we had was fresh and nicely cooked on a bed of mashed potatoes (a little salty). There was a good melange of vegetables. The ice cream we were told was made on the premises. The profiteroles were large. They had some wines by the glass and half bottle. The beer choice was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marks069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder ever!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Oscars has received top reviews in many areas but you never know until you try it first hand. We had only two nights in Galway and were looking for a great seafood experience. Oscars provided it. I had two appetizers, including the best seafood chowder I have ever tasted. I do not give this rating lightly as I have been tasting and making seafood chowders for over 40 years. Oscars comes out on top. Thanks for a great meal experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Seafood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing