We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood chowder ever!”

Oscar's Seafood Bistro
Ranked #8 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood chowder ever!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Oscars has received top reviews in many areas but you never know until you try it first hand. We had only two nights in Galway and were looking for a great seafood experience. Oscars provided it. I had two appetizers, including the best seafood chowder I have ever tasted. I do not give this rating lightly as I have been tasting and making seafood chowders for over 40 years. Oscars comes out on top. Thanks for a great meal experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    197
    51
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tasty seafood”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have not been in this place and decided to visit because of seafood. I really enjoyed huge plate of mussels. Bistro was full of people and it is very popular in Galway.But I do not like interior that was very old and cheap.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Awesome monkfish and shrimp. A "miss" on the kilo of mussels.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This restaurant may have been having an off night. There are certainly TONS of accolades on the wall and door outside, including the "best of" Ireland, and some seafood awards too.

We had a tender, juicy and flavorful thick piece of monkfish. Terrific and perfectly done. We had shrimp as well, well seasoned and not overdone. The kilo of mussels could have been great, but they were overdone, shriveled and not plump and juicy. The onion rings had big size on hand, but the breading was bland and not overly memorable. The side salad with tomatoes was fresh and good. The tasting platter, salmon, and fish and chips were all well done.

Good meal. I would try them again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We very much enjoyed our dinner. Service was very good, atmosphere nice and food wonderful.
Everything we had was great. Small restaurant so make reservations. We finished meal with great crème broulle and Irish coffee for desert....really good. Would go back again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C and L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Oscars is a great reliable restaurant,the fish and seafood dishes never disappoint,very good service as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar's Seafood Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Oscar's Seafood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing