We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot, great location”
Review of Kilcolgan Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcolgan Castle
Ranked #63 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top spot, great location”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I visited Kilcolgan Castle three years in a row and loved every minute there. It's a great location -- an easy drive to Galway, Connemara or the Burren -- yet the castle is its own private escape from the rest of the world. Explore the many rooms in the castle -- each with its own story -- walk the grounds, visit the animals, then settle down by the fire in one of the cozy rooms downstairs. Enjoy Karen's hearty breakfast and be sure to ask her to recommend one of the cool restaurants or pubs nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Kilcolgan Castle is a great place to stay or celebrate a special occasion. It's just like stepping into a time machine, sending you back in the old days with lots of charm. Superb rooms downstairs, fabulous fireplaces burning turf, the upstairs guest rooms are cosy. The views from the rooms on the Kilcolgan river with swans are lovely.
The accommodation is lovely and homely. It's just like you had your own castle for your stay !
Karen and Tony will try and help you/advise you on the local activities that are available. You can even organise some horse-riding on the Castle grounds.
Locationwise, it's perfect ; 12 miles from Galway city, 2 hours drive from Dublin with the motorway, less than 45 min from Shannon airport, lots of good restaurants within a few miles (Oranmore) and last but not least : Moran's Oyster Cottage, famous for its seafood around Galway, is just around the corner!
Well equipped and homely, I would highly recommend Kilcolgan Castle for an out-of-ordinary experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Twelve years ago, I spent my 40th birthday at this magical castle with my friends and family. I returned again this year with my husband and my niece for a much quieter celebration, but was delighted to find the castle as I remembered. Such a special place! Karen makes you feel right at home, and just for a few days you feel like this really is your castle. Meantime, there is nothing quite like looking out at the horses in the fields and the rolling river that glides by the castle walls! It's mesmerizing. The warm peat fire in the evening is just about perfect to cap off your day in the Irish countryside. Plus, you can zip just around the corner to the thatched-roofed Morans Oyster Cottage for the most amazing oysters. It's legendary and has been in the same family for seven generations! I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: I love having the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bankbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robesonia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Karen and family, Thank you, we have such a Lovely time. We were gone from the castle most of the day, when we came back through the gates at night the view was breath taking. The Castle was lit up. In the morning Karen had made breakfast for us all. The animals on the farm fun to watch, swans in the water. Can't wait to go back again.. all 8 of us! Galway was the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannieWelch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I just returned from a delightful trip to Ireland, where we stayed at the Kilcolgan Castle. The history and landscape were fantastic, and the care we received from Karen & Tony was first rate. I throughly enjoyed the welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, where I was as comfortable chatting in the kitchen or sitting by the fire reading a novel. For me the furnishings were splendid, and added to the charm. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to see and provided the perfect respite for our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenry, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I had my daughters 6th birthday party at Kilcolgan Castle today. What a terrific and memorable experience (in stark contrast to the typical kids party). The children had great fun outside being given pony rides by Tony (he was incredibly patient and excellent with small children), playing with the dogs and visiting the farm animals (pigs, hens, geese etc.). We were going to have a treasure hunt but the Irish weather got in the way so we returned inside to dry off. The children and adults were treated to fresh sandwiches cut into various animal shapes (always a hit with kids) and the adults settled down to a hot cup of tea while the kids made their own pizzas using crusts cut in pumpkin shape!

I admit the location and history are a big draw but what really made the day brilliant was the extra mile that Karen and Tony (with help from Karen's uncle) went to make the day extra special. We all felt comfortable and welcome in their home. Karen even had balloons made with my child's name and birthday on them to give to the children going home.

While I did not stay in the castle, I hope to do so in the future. Many of the parents at the party had a tour which included the accommodation rooms and remarked how they would love to come back and stay. The costs of the day were below reasonable (in fact, I feel guilty that I didn't pay more!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Kilcolgan is charmingly old and atmospheric. It is like stepping back in time to a 19th century castle that is also a working farm. I have been visiting Karen since 1997, and she and Tony are warm and welcoming every visit. Just ask and the breakfast of your choice will be provided. You can feed the ducks and chicks and gather your own eggs for breakfast. Horses graze around you as you walk the pastures. Sunset over the swans skating along the water is not to be missed. The dogs and pups are friendly and playful. Kilcolgan is not the Ritz, and anyone expecting to sleep on silk sheets should book there instead. The furnishings are comfortably worn and inviting. The kettle is always available for tea, always served in a pot. It tastes great next to the peat fire. Just put your feet up & take a sip.

Room Tip: Four rooms with different views are all good. They are cozy and lived in, as if you were visiting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifasaorsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galway
11.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Weir Haven
Weir Haven
#2 of 3 in Clarenbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Arches B&B
The Arches B&B
#5 of 13 in Kinvara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcolgan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcolgan Castle

Property: Kilcolgan Castle
Address: Kilcolgan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Dunkellin river overlooking Galway Bay, Kilcolgan castle offers guests a high standard of comfort and elegance. When you are ready to venture outside this 11th century castle's walls, you will find more ways to live like a king! Experience the tranquility of county Galway in a lovingly restored castle which overlooks the Dunkellin River and whose views stretch to Galway Bay. This castle dates from the 11th century. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing