We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family affair in a fairytale castle”
Review of Kilcolgan Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcolgan Castle
Ranked #74 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A family affair in a fairytale castle”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were wed in Kilcolgan Castle in August this year, in the Castle's first ever Civil Ceremony. We stayed one week and had the place to ourselves as a family, including Grannies and toddlers. Young and old thoroughly enjoyed the experience, fishing, playing with the puppies, sitting by the river. The Castle is old, dating from the eleventh century but luckily was renovated by the Victorians, who knew a thing or two about comfort and so resembles a big comfy Manor House within, with all the grandeur of an ancient Castle on a sweeping river, without. We had Karen's home made sausages, bread and conserves until we were fit to burst in the beautiful, octagonal dining room, with every window looking onto an aspect of the river, which is tidal and therefore, different from hour to hour. I loved that dining room and Karen set it so beautifully for our wedding banquet, which was perfect. Because the Castle is very old, full of antiques (we had a Marriage table dated from 1657 to sign the register as husband and wife!) with very old lacework gracing the beds, there are nicks and scuffs about, but that to us, made the place all the more homely and atmospheric, and a priceless experience, compared to staying in some perfect, soulless, spotless, anonymous hotel chain which frankly, one can find everywhere and could be anywhere...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I just returned from another marvelous visit to Kilcolgan Castle. This was our 6th visit from the US. We love it so much it has become an annual event. This visit we arrived after dark and the children (ages 7 and 9) were entranced with the magic of ancient stonework and historical paintings. After a warm, welcoming greeting from the owners, we went across the bay for a fresh crab dinner at the infamous Moran's Oyster Cottage on the weir. We returned to a roaring fire where we read the children bedtime stories and up the winding staircase to bed. The rooms were clean, cozy with classic Irish linens. The serene surroundings provided us with a perfect night's sleep and I can't remember my children ever sleeping so long! After breakfast in the kitchen, my favourite room, the owner took the boys for pony rides. We have stayed in other castles within Ireland and throughout Europe, but the reason we love Kilcolgan the most is due to the level of freedom and privacy the owners allow. You really feel like the king of your own castle and it allows you to truly relax and decompress. I hate leaving and am counting the days until we go back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london_lass914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We rented the castle for five days but the mustiness made it seemed longer. Our excitement upon first entering the castle (and expecting some kind of Harry Potter fantasy) was dampened when we realized that much of the castle is carpeted with green wall-to-wall carpeting that is black at the edges, where it appears that mold may be growing. Worse still -- the bathrooms have wall-to-wall carpets that are stained around the toilets with the evidence of former guests' poor aim. My son has allergies and had a bad time with the dank musty air in the place. We tried to work out a resolution with the owners, such as letting us leave early with a partial refund, but they refused. Agreed with the other reviewer as to the general uncleanliness of the place. Too bad, because the location of the castle is delightful and the structural layout is remarkable ... if only the castle were properly maintained it would be great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kolef88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and elderly mother whilst visiting family in the area. The building is over 200 years old and is a peculiar and intriguing mix of "castle" and manor house, set on the shore of an estuary. Very tranquil until the birds woke up. Because it's old It's not in immaculate condition so may not be to the taste of those who require the luxuries of a hotel. It was however clean, warm and full of charm.

We occupied 2 of the 3 guest rooms and had the freedom to explore most of the house including 4 reception rooms. The owners also share this space but were not around in the evening.

We received a very personal welcome, with the hosts taking the effort to light a turf fire for us knowing we would be arriving quite late. They also spent time with us next morning explaining the origins and heritage of the building as it is so unusual. The cooked breakfast was as faultless as it was generous, and set us up nicely for a day of browsing in the misty Burren.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnoyingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This beautiful Castle in a scenic Galway location is let down by it's owners. On arrival you are greeted with dog excrement around the entrance. The rooms look like they have not been cleaned in over a decade and are in poor repair. We expected a Castle to be somewhat cold but the bedclothes were damp and needed some needlework. The bathroom facilities had ancient soap and the shower looked like you would need one after using it.

Breakfast was promised to be a wonderful affair but don't expect American-stye pancakes with fresh fruit and brewed coffee. Expect instead a teabag in a cup, with cheap mass-produced sliced-pan, served by a surly chef -who clearly had other, more important things to do, than prepare breakfast.

This is a wonderful Castle in a great location with so much potential; I strongly recommend that it's owners stay in a similar ranked B&B, take notes and up their game.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eric-Knutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
784 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#23 of 188 in Galway
58 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 188 in Galway
691 reviews
8.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcolgan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcolgan Castle

Property: Kilcolgan Castle
Address: Kilcolgan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Dunkellin river overlooking Galway Bay, Kilcolgan castle offers guests a high standard of comfort and elegance. When you are ready to venture outside this 11th century castle's walls, you will find more ways to live like a king! Experience the tranquility of county Galway in a lovingly restored castle which overlooks the Dunkellin River and whose views stretch to Galway Bay. This castle dates from the 11th century. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing