We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, lovely staff.”
Review of Cupan Tae

Cupan Tae
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, lovely staff.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed in Jurys but went over the road every day for a week to enjoy a breakfast at Cupan Tae. Quirky, imaginative menu well presented and delightfully served by the excellent staff. The full Irish breakfast is great,just ask for the bacon to be cooked fresh. The before noon tea is a treat for anybody who might have had enough Irish breakfasts. All in all one of our highspots of out trip to Galway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NosherEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    146
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tea served in china cups and saucers and the sandwiches and pastries are very good. Tables are very close together.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank trish4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea spot.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stopped by for a cup of Irish tea and I was transported back in time
This tea/restaurant boasts over 30 different types of tea, as well as, desserts and sandwiches.
The atmosphere is lovely. It reminded me of when I was a little girl dressing up to have tea with my dolls. The music was also a perfect touch.
I ordered the "Galway Cream" black tea (recommended by the waitress). Black tea with roasted coffee beans, jasmine flower, & cream. €3.55 for a teapot. More than enough tea for one person. I didn't have any treats, but those around me who did, seemed very pleased.
Well worth it, no doubt!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a fantastic breakfast here, the food was local and delicious, the attention to detail is second to none. The owner deserves credit for obviously the food but also the table dressings, restaurant layout and presentation of food and staff courtesy and dress. Well done to all concerned lets hope more businesses copy your model.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tea for two”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'd seen Cupan Tae when we first arrived in the Galway area and had written it off as too cute. To my mind, it just had to be a tourist trap. Surprisingly, once we'd gotten on really friendly terms with our host at the B&B, he encouraged us to be sure to go there, as it was a place he really enjoyed. And he's a local! We made a point of stopping one afternoon when we were really ready for a late lunch and ordered the traditional afternoon tea. I loved the decor; my husband and I both really enjoyed the food. Tea, a full sandwich apiece, scones, and some darling little desserts set us back about thirty two dollars, US. That's a bit pricey, but the theatre of a proper tea, served on proper china, on a lovely tablecloth, with generous amounts of food, seemed entirely worth the splurge.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vistachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupan Tae also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Cupan Tae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing