We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for an Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 7 Cross Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number 7 Cross Street
Ranked #84 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great for an Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a great place for young people to stay overnight when partying late in Galway. The rooms are up a lot of stairs and can fit a small bag but not a suitcase, so they aren't really suitable for an extended stay. And the noise from the pub across the narrow street continues until 3am. Excellent breakfast and great staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    40
    12
    17
See reviews for
12
104
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reus, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Although the rooms were a little small are highly decorated, with all the details. I loved it!
The girls at the hostel are very nice.
Full breakfast and tasty
And centrally located
Would give it a 10! I recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very disappointing stay overall. First impressions, hallway was dirty, bedroom small but we had expected that, lack of basics in the bedroom, wall rack with no hangers for our clothes, no hairdryer.
Worst breakfast ever, no variety, small portions only of food available and presentation poor, food cheap and also of poor quality. Previous days paper in window and magazines from 2011. I did contact owners with our feedback but no reply received. Hotel in great location and has great potential but sadly not boutique hotel standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here overnight with my boyfriend and really loved it. It is cute and quirky and you really get a sense of the history of the building from the black and white tiles in the entrance halls to the authentic windows and wooden beams in the bedrooms.
As one of the other reviewers mentioned it is something akin to a Parisian style hotel. It is small but beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty albeit without a 'hot' breakfast option, which doesn't normally appeal to me anyway.
Perfect if you want to be in the heart of Galway, soaking up the atmosphere in somewhere quite different to what is normally on offer.
It was exactly what we wanted in a hotel, it is small but perfectly formed, and may not be for everyone!
Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meabhnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The first thing that cannot be misunderstood is the size and locaton of this hotel. It ius wee, the rooms are wee. It is bang in the heart of historic Galway where the businesses are dedicated to creating an inimitable Irish experrience of Guinness, whiskey, music and song. Some of the loca bars have a late night license until 2am and even on a Monday night in chilly March the Galwegians are poised to party. 7 Cross Street is right on the old cobbled streets of the Latin Quarter tucked in between and straddling some local hosteleries. Very cute, quaint and as one person has already mentioned, Parisien. Although a heavy sleeper I was a tad apprehensive especially as I chose to sleep on the lower floor to have wifi access (another story see below). My fears were unfounded. Although there was some noise the room was better insulated than expected and as other reviewers have pointed out the comfortable beds, qualiity sheets and the spotless rooms (I was in the Shackelton) made for a lovely snug visit. The breakfast is a continental breakfast which was included in my room rate of 49 euros (excellent value for a lone traveller) was basic but substanial enough. Gluten free cereal was on offer but disappointingly although I was assured that gluten free bread could be provided when I booked there wasnt any on the day. The other factor which marred my stay was the quality of wifi. I very specifically asked if wifi was available in the bedrooms and was assured it was. Unfortunately the first two rooms I was offered had the very minimum of a signal and the room I settled on which seemed to be the closest to the router wasnt alot better. Fortunately I did not have to do any Skype calls but if I had I do not think the signal would have been robust enough to support that. What made this a lillttle more difficult was the attitude of the the staff in the hotel who were surprised to hear there were any wifi issues. They did protest a tad too much. I was in the hotel for 24 hiours and the wifi signal was consistently weak. I would have appreciated some openness and honesty either when I booked or when I brought it up. It is obvious that in a medieaval warren wifi will be challenging and it probably would be wise to have a customised installation. I have just returned from travelling in Cuba where I stayed in a basic hostel that had a wifi network on every floor to faciliate guests. There is no excuse for not providing this service particularly as the under used breakfast room is an ideal space to use as a daytime business/guest lounge and good quality wifi must be an easy string to add to the bow. I love quaint, different, cute, quality sheets, a bit of style and good value for money so I would definately visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annekscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

stayed one night and loved this place.smack bang in centre of buzzing bars restaurants.atmosphere on cobbled streets outside very Parisian.Spotless decor and cute that this is a listed building ,yet is chic and modern inside.yes rooms are small but crisp white sheets and very comfortable beds and spotless en -suite eats into floor space.would reccomend for a fun loving couple or single girls,there is a lot of street noise at weekend but owners have done their best to sound proof with restrictions imposed on such a historic building.continental ,not fry-up breakfast with fresh fruit,crossants was fine.only drawback is carpark charge of €10 but worth it for security and very close by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Galway. It is a 5 or 600 years old building that has been modernised to a high standard. It is claimed to be Galway's smallest hotel, and indeed it is. The rooms are small, but decorated with glamour as you would expect in a boutique hotel. As it is so small there is no bar, but it is located in the middle of all the best places Galway has to offer. Would not recommend if you are a light sleeper and you have to get up for work the the next day, as the night life can be heard. The breakfast is not a full Irish, but there was a range of things that were lovely like breads, yougurts, fruit and breads, and it is served in a lovely breakfast room. Again due to the fact that this place is so old, there are narrow stairs, so this is not suitable for disabled or the elderly.
There was Wifi available, but it did not work on the top floor.
I

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank snoodiemctockish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 52 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citypoint Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Eyre Square Townhouse
Eyre Square Townhouse
#79 of 197 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 7 Cross Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 7 Cross Street

Property: Number 7 Cross Street
Address: 7 Cross Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 7 Cross Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Cross St is a 600-year-old stone building with many stories to tell. This boutique hotel Galway City boasts ten en-suite, air-conditioned bedrooms which are thoughtfully renovated and decorated to preserve the unique character of this historic structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Number 7 Cross Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 7 Cross Street Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing