We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big portions at small prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galleon Restaurant

The Galleon Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Blending the tradition of the old with a feeling for the new, the Galleon has been serving 5 million satisfied customers ever since it opened 45 years ago.An institution in Salthill, it takes pride in its friendly, experienced staff and its newly refurbished premises, to offer you an exceptional dining experience.With our extensive menu, we have something for everyone, be it a fussy child, a meat lover or a gourmet eater with a refined taste. Our scrumptious selection of food includes hearty meats, delicate fish, light salads, creamy pasta and indulgent desserts. We also have gluten- free options for coeliacs and vegetarian specialities.We keep our young guest entertained with crayons and pictures to colour in, while their parents enjoy a relaxing three-course meal. We also cater for parties of up to 30 people in our devoted function room. Whether you come for leisure, to enjoy a tea and scone with friends, or for work, to avail of our free high-speed Wifi.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big portions at small prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

The Galleon is a great restaurant for all the family as there is a good choice on the menu. Portions are generous and prices not dear. Staff very welcoming and kids are given crayons and picture and can win a voucher for the restaurant. It's right beside the promenade and this is great for a leisurely stroll after dinner. Only problem is difficulty in parking. All pay and display and normally no spaces available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    256
    77
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch not so special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Lunch special consisted of mushroom starter followed by turkey and ham. Both my husband and I thought the turkey and ham left an after taste that was not pleasant, still with us after a strong cup of coffee. The potatoes were of a watery consistency. On the plus side the starter was fine and the service was good.

Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthiacynical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoples' Republic of Boulder
Level Contributor
227 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Great Spot in Salthill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Salthill is a resort town next door to Galway. The Galleon Restaurant is child friendly so families were there. Although it was Thursday, and lunch, it was packed - mostly with locals it seemed. Most folks seemed to be having the special of the day. I had the Seafood Mornay which was both delicious and filling. Others in our group had the Fish Pie which, with the masher center, was a bit more than they could eat for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived late afternoon and walked around the boardwalk for a bit. By chance we went into the Galleon and were seated right away, even though the restaurant was very busy (it was a Sunday)
Several specials were offered, I chose appetizer and main and my husband ordered main and dessert. All courses were delivered in a timely manner and the food was still hot. Serving staff were very pleasant and always courteous. A very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamjambc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

we have visited this place a few times now for both breakfast and dinner, and i can not say a bad word about the place, the menu is very good and so is the food when you get it, the staff are very friendly and efficient, there was a bit of a queue when we got there in the evening but they got through it quite quickly and they were very good with the child even getting her meal first as she was hungry and had been waiting, and little things like that go a long way, all i can say is keep up the good work as we will definitely be back when we visit salthill again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mal1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galleon Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Galleon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing