We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Gourmet Tart Company
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $13
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I discovered two locations. Both had Fabulous coffee, scones, & tarts. Great place for breakfast, lunch or a coffee & dessert pick-me-up. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuthatch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    216
    66
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not child friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have visited here a number of times and still wear my jacket as its always cold?? Went with my kids last week and they really would prefer not to have kids in the restaurant, they stayed seated and caused no problems but were looked at as an inconvience, not good enough. Food is always average since head chef change, kids enjoy the pastries but not there food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank O Mc L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleod, Owner at Gourmet Tart Company, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Gourmet Tart has received 434 reviews on Tripadvisor and 379 of these reveiws have been either very good or excellent. We are delighted with this record. However, your review is the most hurtful and disappointing that we have ever received. I see from your profile that you have joined tripadvisor and have written 5 reviews today. I see that you have been harsh on other restaurants also and I hope that you realise, as you continue to use tripadvisor, that these reviews have an impact on the owners, managers and people who work in these businesses. Reviews should not be written in haste as they have a lasting impact on the website and on the people involved. You are incorrect when you say that we are not child friendly. This was obviously your experience but I feel that your review is too strongly worded and the tone is unnecessarily negative. I am a mother of 4 young children. I know what it is like to feel unwelcome in a restaurant and I would be mortified if one of our staff members made you feel this way. It is certainly not our policy to make families feel unwelcome - our business is built on local families. Our kids menu has been improved by our Head Chef Damien who has worked with us since we opened 3 years ago. We have included, at the request of customers, more healthy options and small portions of adult meals. We have high chairs, colouring books, changing stations, plastic cups, straws, kids treats, kids menus etc...We heat bottles, make baby bowls and help in any way possible when it comes to making a childs experience positive. I know it can be stressful trying to eat with kids in a restaurant and we try to make that experience as smooth as we can. Many of our staff have children themselves and they can relate to parents. We have literally hundreds of children who visit us every week. Sometimes we have been accused of being "too child friendly". You might please email me to let me know when you visited us and who made you feel unwelcome. On another note, our restaurant has a built in heating system and it is a large room which is heated, at considerable cost (considering the price of the food) every day to a temperature of 24 degrees - the temperature dial is visible at both counters. I'm sorry that you find this cold and I think this is due to the fact that you must be sitting close to the door. I look forward to hearing from you with more details. I would also urge any other parents to email me with their observations (if they have the time). Michelle Hyland, owner, Gourmet Tart Co. info@gourmettartco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have eaten in the Gourmet Tart Company a number of times, mainly for lunch.
The restaurant is always busy but tables usually become available quite quickly, it is definitely worth waiting in line for though.
The food is delicious and the salads are sublime. Place is very family friendly and there are always children around.
One thing I will say is DO NOT leave with buying a piece of cake/tart/pastry etc, they are phenomenal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Waited, waited, waited.. Food ok.. Service terrible.. I won't be back.. Wished I had tried elsewhere

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kivvy087721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Tasty fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed a takeaway from this cafe and enjoyed the fresh tasty food + it was value for money. The Thai chicken curry was flavoursome without being too hot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helenjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Tart Company also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Gourmet Tart Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing