We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarts to die for”

Gourmet Tart Company
Ranked #2 of 13 Dessert in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tarts to die for”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

what fabulous tarts, cakes and meringues this fantastic bakery has to offer - you can eat in or take out. i loved it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanDublin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    220
    67
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great spot with fantastic cakes”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Only know about their shop in Galway City Centre which was takeaway the last time I was there. But in Salthill they have a restaurant with all the tarts, cakes etc but also a sit down menu. Had Brunch there and food was beautiful and reasonable. Suppose that was why the place was wedged and we had to wait for a while - well worth it though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank McCarthyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food is good if you can get served”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is very popular with families, so there are often baby strollers blocking the aisles, screaming infants and toddlers walking around. That's fine. What's not fine is that the service is terrible.
We stopped in there on our way out of town to have a small meal and tea. One of the servers pointed us toward a table way in the back, one table from the rear wall. We settled in there. The very back table was occupied by another server on her break who was sitting with her back to the room looking out the back door. We perused our menus, decided on our food, and sat there for 15 minutes, gradually realizing that nobody was going to take our order.
We discussed this within earshot of the server sitting five inches behind me. She finished her meal, got up and returned to work -- waiting on other people, neither approaching us nor sending anybody else back. We got up and left, wending our way through the baby strollers and children.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelleod, Owner at Gourmet Tart Company, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for being so kind with your star rating on our food despite your unpleasant experience. Can you imagine how it feels to be the owner of a small family business such as ours and to read such a review? It is very disappointing for us that a staff member after enjoying a complimentary meal would ignore a customer who clearly needs to be served at the next table. We have had a fantastic run on tripadvisor with over 300 great reviews but sadly, over the past 2 weeks, we have been hit with a few bad reviews about our service. I hire every staff member personally myself. It is difficult to get a job in Gourmet Tart Co. Recently, from an open interview of 52 people, 2 people were called for a trial and one person was employed by us. We have fantastic staff who work very hard and we have had a very busy Easter. This staff member has let us down. I hope it was a once off. I am deeply sorry that you had to leave without being served and thank you for trying to support us. Michelle Hyland, owner, Gourmet Tart Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food let down by poor service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have visited the gourmet tart restaurant on my occasions and have alway enjoied their food which is of an excellent standard, Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the service, on my occassions i have been seated and left sitting their for up wards of 20 mins before my order has been taken, on my last visit a group of three of us went for breakfast, ordered food and hot drinks, food came out after about 30 mins, but no sign of hot drinks, mentioned it when the food came and was assured that the drinks were on the way. After we finished our food I once again asked for our drinks (two teas and a latte) I was told in a very short and snappy manner that they were on the way. From reading previous reviews other seem to have had similar experiences with the service, which is such a shame as the food is brilliant, Cake and tarts are second to none, Coffee isnt their stron point always tastes a little burnt.
Also the mens toilets are always a little grubby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Power_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good start to a trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here impromptu on April 1, having just arrived in Galway- we were a big group of kids and adults. The staff seemed a little thrown by the large group as the cafe was very busy. Having said that, service was good and the food was delicious...really enjoyed it, tomato soup was divine. Bit pricey but anywhere really good is I' m afraid.... You get what you pay for. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank User0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Tart Company also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Gourmet Tart Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing