We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Food and Music” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #12 of 77 Nightlife in Galway
Attraction details
Harrisonburg VA, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for Food and Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and music. Two young lasses danced a bit or Irish Step Dance, too. It was a fun atmosphere and not roudy. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. I think it was the best soup I had while in Ireland. My husband had the lazagna which was good, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The place to go for a quiet pint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great spot when all you fancy is a quiet pint without fighting the crowds elsewhere. Always quiet and chilled, but still atmospheric. Great Guinness too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,365 reviews
584 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 855 helpful votes
“Nice quiet spot for a pint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

As we were pub crawling, we came across Murphy's. It was a nice quiet place for a pint and some conversation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pint Of Guinness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great spot on shop street in galway for an excellent pint of Guinness in an old world atmosphere. There always seems to be a local or a stragler that the girls behind the bar know coming or going which is always a good sign.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheers!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

No matter how tired you are if in Galway you got to go for a pint and Murphy's Bar is the best. Nice atmosphere friendly staff, nice music great people. The only problem is that you dont stop by the first or second pint, you keep on drinking.

Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing