We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad cold junk fast food”
Review of The Charcoal Grill

The Charcoal Grill
Ranked #55 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Turkish Kebab restaurants in the heart of Galway. All our Kebabs are made fresh on our premises and are very reasonably priced. We offer a full take away menu with delicious chargrilled burgers to our own homemade taco sause fries. For our vegetarians we have lovely homemade falafel and humus which are very popular. Enjoy eat in or take out. We also offer a delivery service from 5pm daily. Open Mon -Sun 11.30 til 3am...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bad cold junk fast food”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

the kebabs were tasteless the chips were cold and had been re fried so many times they were going dark

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunshinereggae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    25
    8
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This used to be my regular haunt after a night out. I always enjoyed the shish kebab, which was even nicer after a few drinks! However, an episode in their Eyre Sq branch on Halloween night has left me with a bitter taste in my mouth and i will NEVER step foot inside there again. The staff were extremely rude and obnoxious, a very drunk girl stole my food when someone was taking my picture, when i turned around she was sitting down eating my kebab and drinking my can of coke! I understand it was my fault for turning my back on my food on a busy night, however the staff treated me as if i was piece of s#@t!! and were not one bit helpful. All i wanted was my food, to make a long story short... the turkish staff behind became very agressive towards me and my partner and came out from behind the counter in a very threatening and intimidating manner, which made me feel very scared. Everybody was looking at us and i was very embarrased and afraid. i will never eat there again. my new kebab place has got to be Capital on eglinton st, staff are warm and friendly and the fresh bread that they cook in house is devine compared to the packaged pitta in charcoal grill, however i do miss the chilli sauce from charcoal but i will be boycotting for my own safety!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JesabelGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Fast Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The charcoal grill is our regular spot for an unhealthy treat! It's a turkish takeout with kebabs, falafel, burgers and chips. The chips are always well cooked, and the portions are very large and cheap. The falafal is alo delicious and the salads are great. They used to make their own hummus which was delicious but they only have garlic mayo and chilli now. The salads are also particularly nice for a fast food joint! The cabbage and lettuce are dressed lightly in lemon and loive oil an dthe onion is fresh and crispy! They open really late and it's best to avoid the place between 1.3- and 4 as there are huge queus of drunk people. If you've got a greasy food craving, this is the place to take it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best quick bite in town”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Charcoal grill has delicious flavorful kebabs done right! It's got burgers and chips but the skewer meats are fantastic. If you need a bite on a budget, go to Charcoal- There are a bunch in Galway.... It started as just one so don't mistake it for a major chain. This place is really lovely and isn't just a fast food place.

Check it out!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic doner burger meal nom nom”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Brilliant for a bite to eat.done burger meal 5 euro

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charcoal Grill also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Charcoal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing