We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice end to our time in Galway”

Restaurant Gigi’s
Ranked #165 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant gigi's offers an extensive menu inspired by the use of the very best local ingredients and seasonal produce. Guests can savour a taste of the West in stylish surroundings with attentive yet discreet service. Restaurant gigi's was awarded 'Best Hotel Restaurant in Galway' at the 2016 Irish Restaurant Awards and holds 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“What a nice end to our time in Galway”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We really had an amazing time at the G having our dinner the night before leaving. The hotel itself has many lounges where you can choose to enjoy a pre meal drink. The restaurants food was really good and we had a very attentive table service. Thanks for making our last night so special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    38
    20
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best food I've ever had !!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Could not find even single detail to complain.fantastic food,brilliant service and beautifule atmosphere.loved it

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neringa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - Decent food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I ate in this restaurant during my first night's stay in the G Hotel. I immediately liked the way the restaurant was decorated with lots of purples and pinks. The staff were friendly and efficient and there were no unwelcome delays in the service, nor did we feel rushed. I found the seating against the wall to be a bit uncomfortable simply because I'm quite short and when I sat back my arms couldn't reach the table!! I could probably have done with a cushion or two to make it more comfortable. The food was very tasty, especially the soup starter which was served in a bowl made of bread, it was delicious. My main course of chicken was a bit bland, but I think chicken can just be like this. For two people who ate two courses and had a glass of wine each - the bill came to €110 (including a 10% tip). I would eat in this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shortac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Decent food at a good price”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ate here on my first night at the hotel. The atmosphere was good and the service was excellent.

The food was pretty good (I had a steak) but it didn't stand out compared to some other places I've been. Don't get me wrong it was good and deserves its 4 stars.

When I got the bill I had a pleasant surprise. Overall I thought it was good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

During a recent business trip, Was torn between eating casually in the creamy silvery lounge ( my favorite of the public spaces) or more formally in the restaurant. I wish I'd obeyed my gut and chosen the former. Decor really funky and stylish - a bit too 'statementy' for me but comfortable (velvet banquettes) and interesting details (unusual chairs covered in different colored colored velvets). Service was good throughout. I did my usual - 2 starters as starter and main and lots of sides. We recieved a very nice amuse of tiny squares of black pudding and apple compote which was delicious. My companion had a very pretty deconstructed prawn cocktail which she found to be too small a helping ( and found the lemon curd to be an odd taste). My starter wasn't a success ( but that was more my fault for misinterpreting the dish) - it turned out to be a very creamy cauliflower soup in a bread bowl with a sprinkling of cries and chili oil. I had thought I was ordering cauliflower cooled with cries and chili oil. My companion finished it off. Her main was con fed chicken - which she foundd to be fine but not particularly special ( and a bit dry). I had the scallops starter as a main and on 2nd attempt found it to be very nice (but not ravingly so). The 1st serving was cold and had to be returned..... Sides ( green beans in garlic and lemon, plus Salad from another main) were both good, fresh. Bill t thought was high given one of us didn't have a main, we had no desserts or tea/coffee and a 26 euro bottle of wine ( a nice dry verdejo). I'd probably not have found it to be expensive if we'd enjoyed the meal more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gigi’s also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Restaurant Gigi’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing