We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Good!”
Review of Fat Freddy's

Fat Freddy's
Ranked #79 of 470 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, International, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Drogheda
Level Contributor
325 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Still Good!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was a number of years (at least 12) since my wife and I last ate at Fat Freddy's. The decor is still based around the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers from the infamous drug culture comic-strip. There was a party of 5 of us - and we shared 2 plates of nachos and 3 twelve-inch pizzas. Everything was good and there was more than enough to fill us. Staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank therealnickpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    195
    90
    47
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fab Vegan Options!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Had a brilliant meal in Fat Freddy's last week with a group of vegan friends. The Quesadilla was just awesome - veggies, beans and vegan cheese grilled between tortillas, served with potatoes, salad and a whole load of vegan mayo dip - it was huge and just delicious! The Enchillada was really tasty too, although you sadly only get one (could have easily munched away on more!). They have also recently changed their pizza dough recipe to be vegan friendly and have a few other options, like a vegan friendly mezze. With great service and buzzing atmosphere to boot, we'll definitely be back soon to try them too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch0c0lateE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great value”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great pizza, just what was needed on a really wet Sunday afternoon. Not too expensive, will definitely be back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JillieBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real Buzz.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great fun atmosphere & decor! Cheap and cheerful menu, but some hidden gems. Good home-made pizzas and gluggable wines.
Family-friendly too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good, but a little expensive”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my partner went here as I'm vegan and it's hard to find places that can cater for me. I had intended on ordering a pizza as the menu had vegan cheese topping options. It turned out that the base wasn't dairy free, so I ordered their wrap instead. Had I known before sitting down, I would have dined at the place next door which had some vegan options. My partner didn't enjoy his food. It was a bit over-priced, although the portions are big. The staff were really friendly, and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Fat Freddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing