We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”
Review of Fat Freddy's

Fat Freddy's
Ranked #77 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, International, Wine Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Fat Freddies is a wee gem in the restaurant scene in Galway! Not the biggest of places but that does add to the intimate atmosphere! Good with families, couples and singles and a gastronomic delight! If you're into your italian food, then this is one experience you shouldnot miss. Tasty is not the word..I'm still drooling thinking of my calzone! This is heavenly and very easy on the pocket too!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    198
    90
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Good Deal in Galway”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Fat Freddys has been in Galway for a long time. I worked there more than 20 years ago, so maybe I am a little biased. With that said, the food is way better now than it was when I worked there. We stopped in for soup and sandwiches at lunch time. Practically every restaurant and Galway serves lunchtime soup and sandwiches, but the prices at Fat Freddys are much more reasonable. I had the seafood chowder, and it was very good. The food is presented nicely, how it was served on a wood cutting board. (Although that looks nice, wood retains bacteria and is not the best option for serving food, so they might want to rethink that.) Fat Freddys is located conveniently close to Shop Street so you can stop in and take a break from your shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarheeldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and have never been disappointed. If you like what you see on the menu you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Manager makes best coffee available in Galway”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Any time we have come here, we have experienced such a warm welcome from the restaurant's hardworking staff. As a popular family restaurant bang in the middle of Quay Street, the place can be heaving with people and buggies but the staff are always calm and kind. The restaurant's French manager makes fantastic coffee that will have you wondering if you're really still in Ireland.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMH12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service from disinterested staff”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting this restaurant on and off for ten years. As a chef myself I appreciate the ups and downs any given night can throw your way. But bad service and a 35 min wait is unacceptable when there is 8 people in the place. We have had bad experiences in fat Freddie's the last 3 times we have been in. It won't happen again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 

Been to Fat Freddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing