We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like putting on a favourite jumper”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fat Freddy's

Fat Freddy's
Ranked #81 of 467 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like putting on a favourite jumper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A trip to Galway regularly starts with a visit to Fat Freddy's. It is comfortable, great staff and food.
Yes there are better restaurants but it just helps settle into Galway and all it has to offer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    185
    85
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“oh for more space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fat Freddy's i have visited 4 times. the portions are huge so be warned. Its good simple tasty food and very popular with locals and visitors alike and for family's as its not posh but always hustle and bustle. I like it but if its busy you have literally your own space and no leg or arm room. they have squeezed the maximum amount of tables they can into the space and you always feel a little bit cramped. shame. this time as well no deals so it was full price on everything. Normally its a 4 for me when i'm hungry but the space issue is consistent most times i've been visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Captain_hooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“very good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

had lunch there with my girlfriend ,she was delighted she had veg lasagne i had beef 1 service was fast and friendly food was tasty and good value,we always eat out and now we know the place to go fat freddys lol

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very tasty soup and best burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

ate in fat freddys in paddys day had veg soup it was very tasty and beef burger the best i had so far in ireland was fast service and friendly

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loveliest staff in Galway. Super service with humour and energy from the charming small dark haired girl and the handsome kerrym”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hadn't been in here for ages and initially ordered coffee but was tempted into one of their special value meals with wine, portion was very generous. The food was perfect, exactly as you d expect in a pizzeria but atmosphere was just fabulous. I hope this restaurant recognises how charming their staff are. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smallgreenapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Fat Freddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing