We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of padraicins

padraicins
Ranked #96 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a view...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The tricolor snapping in the breeze outside on a beautiful sunny day, we were lucky to get a window with a panoramic view of the beach and Galway Bay. The view distracted us somewhat from the food, but happy to say that was good too and the waitress was smiling and cheerful. Good pub/by the sea fare... Recommend the chowder, potato boats and Brie salad and why not down it with an excellent pint of Guinness?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    95
    28
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food is delicious but the service lets it down a little”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself, my mother and two children visited Padraicins last week. The first night we were there was amazing. The food was spectacular - I had the Chicken Fajitas - the waitresses were more then helpful and even interacted with my two year old very well. The views from the table we were given were very picturesque. We all enjoyed our meal and we had to return.

We returned the following evening...to be greeting by a very sour woman who took us to a more secluded table (down near the toilets). Our waitress was as sour and often rude. I had the 9oz steak (well done) and it was pink in the middle but luckily I didn't notice until the end as it was so dimly lit (or atmospheric) where we were. My two year old, expecting the same interaction as the previous night, was terribly disappointed and even at this early age commented on how "crabby" the girls were.

The food was lovely (regardless of the pink steak). I would recommend Padraicins however I would reflect their service in the tip you leave at the end of your meal. First night they received a 25% tip...the next night they got 0%!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLeeChlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Cultural dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were part of a large tour group in April 2013 and enjoyed a hearty delicious meal followed by lively entertainment. We experienced an Irish ceili (cultural celebration of song and dance). Upon returning to the States, I communicated with the restaurant via email and received a prompt and friendly response!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CATraveler0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a room with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Wednesday afternoon as a party of 13 made up of children and adults. It is difficult to accommodate such a large number without prior booking but within minutes we were seated all together at a large table with a wonderful view of the sea. The waitress's were very pleasant and attentive and although we had a bit of a wait for our food (understandable for a big party) it was all piping hot and delicious. It's not my first trip to padraicins and it certainly won't be my last!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lexy186609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, fresh fish and great for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

It's a great place to stop on our way back to Galway. Delicious food and lovely staff. Our two children said their mini roast dinners were Devine! Plus we had fun playing on the beach before and after dinner outside the restaurant :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseygirlinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed padraicins also viewed

Spiddal, County Galway
 
Spiddal, County Galway
 

Been to padraicins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing