We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was alright”

The Quays Restaurant
Ranked #191 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“it was alright”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

well were to start,
I was visiting for work so needed some quick easy food
I had the soup, and it was the best soup I have ever had (but my opinion, and you can tell a lot from its soup), mine came boiling hot and was very flavoursome - It was the soup from the 3 courses €22.95 menu
the lamb irish strew was a monumental let down in all fairness, I have had better, I expected better, and having tasted the soup, my expectation was that It would be equally as good.. I was wrong..
the wine was very nice, and the coffee was ok..
staff were a little bit all over the place, and as it was quite that surprised me slightly..

would I go again?? its fair to say I would try somewhere different before recommending.. but if your paying €22.95 for three courses, realistically its never gonna to be "rock your world" nice

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    153
    88
    61
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

soup lacked flavour and lukewarm. Spring rolls lukewarm. Main courses... Lamb...haddock...and bacon.... If blindfolded one could not tell the difference. Overall the meal was reminiscent of what might have been served up 30years ago in Ireland ....expected much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Youghalbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a good meal here. The service was quick even though the place was packed. The building itself was also good to be in - full off nooks and crannies. Special offers were great value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank norirelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food well cooked”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Of the 3 nights we had in Galway, we ate there twice. Both times the food was great and the service and atmosphere of the place tip top

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank windybottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious hearty Irish grub”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After looking on tripadvisor previously before picking this restaurant the majority of reviews were good, some had said it was a bit of a hit or a miss,
before entering, me and my other half quickly looked over the menu before going in there were lots of seafood and other nicities on the menu, there are seats outside were it wAs really busy and inside I expected to be one room but it is very deceiving as it is huge with a few floors and bars to it, we decided straight away after looking at the menu we would both have the Irish stew and were utterly delighted when it came out it was just what the doctor ordered and we were definitely not disappointed! Lovely tastey hearty sized portions just what we were after! The staff were polite and attentive took us to our seats straight away! We went about four o'clock and it was quite quie downstairs just one other table of about 7, but it got busier, Lovely relaxed atmosphere! 5stars easy!!! Give it a try:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quays Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Quays Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing