We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of Boston USA”

Scotty's Famous Burgers & Wings
Ranked #68 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Scotty's is a friendly,casual restaurant with an emphasis on American comfort food.Our business motto is "Serious Food, Genuine Hospitality". Scotty is passionate about burgers so this is the place to come if you want juicy,100% Pure Galway beef burgers ( Over 58 versions to choose from ). Potato skins, plentiful platters of buffalo hot or BBQ wings, fall off the bone pork ribs, soups, salads and mouth-watering desserts. Americana at its best!
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Boston USA”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate here a number of times - usually on a Sunday - with our kids. Its always busy which is a good sign So it is advisable to book in advance. They have good kids menu and serve fruit and a drink with it. A little bit on the expensive side but food is genuine American style and reminds me of the States and what is served there. Staff are attentive but sometime feel a little rushed if they are under pressure to sit people who are waiting to get a table. Would recommend and will def be back ourselves. Kids esp love it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeCGaillimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    32
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The best steakhouse and american food joint I've ever been to.
Friendly service, always smiling and food to die for.
I definitely recommend the ribs and chicken wings. O and chocolate cake yum.

Helpful?
Thank Sherief M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“America in galway!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Call into Scotty's for a quick bite to eat. Really surprised to find it was packed as it was a Sunday afternoon, also by the fact that it is tucked away in a quiet location. Menu selection is huge and the portions are very generous.I ordered a salad and although lovely , I would prefer to have it already tossed in the dressing, but that's just me.Worth a visit if you are really hungry,it's not cheap, but food is good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

ate here the other eveing, where the service was very good , friendly staff, the food is very over priced for what you get, burgers start at a tener and go up to about 16 euro.....for 4 euros more we could have a 2 or 3 course meal elsewhere....shame as its a nice place

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank katie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rudest customer service I have ever recieved”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went to Scottys on a saturday evening. We were offered a seat for 2 happily, until i said that we only wished to see the dessert menu. If the sighing and disgusted look of the owner wasnt enough; after that she proceeded to be extremely rude, tell us that she didn't have enough time and that the table was reserved in 45 minutes. So basically if we wanted a full meal and to spend a fortune on an over-priced burger, we were happily welcome. But if you wish to enjoy desert, you had better find somewhere else. I shall never dine at this restaurant again, even though I was previously a regular customer. I shall be informing everyone I know not to eat here. Over -priced, and rude service. You would think a woman that has clearly been in the restaurateur business for as 'LONG' as she has would have better manners when dealing with potential customers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank GerryKelly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotty882, Owner at Scotty's Famous Burgers & Wings, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Gerry, Thank you for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry for the way things went on Saturday night. I was totally out of line. I was operating with a migraine and while I am there physically, mentally is another matter. As soon as those words came out of my mouth I knew I was wrong and by the time I got back to your table to apologise you had rightfully left. Scotty's prides itself on excellent service and when we got home that evening after our shift the first thing I told Scott was just how I had let the side down and how badly I felt about how I had treated both you and your guest. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to openly apologise for my poor service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Famous Burgers & Wings also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Scotty's Famous Burgers & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing