We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raw”

Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #178 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Raw”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Love this place eat here sometimes twice a week ate here tonight with family daughter got Thai green curry the chicken was raw gave us a different dinner said sorry charged 150 and gave us a few extra chocolates not acceptable for regulars for family dinner sorry

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kangoojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalVilla, Manager at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi Kangoojt, I'm very sorry to hear about your bad experience but thank you for bringing it to our attention. We value our customers highly and regular customers such as yourself are very important to us. Clearly the supervisor on duty did not handle the situation appropriately for which I can only apologise. Please contact me by Private Message on tripadvisor so I can remedy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    32
    21
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good food small portions”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The cooking here is of the finest quality. The menu is extensive and adventurous and also traditional. The big BUT is " the portions".. Recent visit meant a very tasty meal but not enough. The prices are ok but the portions .. Too small. So after a nice evening I finished up visiting my local take away on my way home...not ideal ..it could be much better.

This restaurant is run by one of Galway's leading Chinese families with links to this city going back thirty years. Charlie Chang knows his food and his restaurants are testimony to that but even in these recessionary times don't cut back on the portions....I would like more than four pieces if chicken in my chow mien ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalVilla, Manager at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi MrGalway,
Thanks for taking the time to review and let us know how your meal was. I'm glad you felt the food was very tasty. I'm very suprised to hear the portion size was small during your visit. We strive to maintain the highest standards of quality and consistency and as standard there is 7-9 pieces of chicken in all our our chicken dishes. Our customers are very important to us as is their feedback and I would hope to have you dine with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always our first choice”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We love this place. Always top of our list when meeting up with the girls. Staff are extremely friendly and always accommodating to all our needs.
The food is first class as is the presentation...Their Tiramisu is thee best i've ever tasted. It's the only dessert I like and Ive never gotten another near as good as what the Royal Villa make.
It offers great value for money especially mid week..2 Course including Glass of wine for €20 or 3 Course +wine for €25...You wont get that value anywhere else.
I couldn't recommend this lovely restaurant enough and look forward to my next visit very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doylert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalVilla, Owner at Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Doylert,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and can I just say I'm delighted to hear such great feedback. I hope to keep impressing you and your friends when ye visit. We love our Tiramisu too, it's tough not to keep it all for ourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Night Out”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went here on Valentines night and it was really nice. The food and the service were great. I even got a rose!!! The staff were so friendly. It was not expensive either. Very good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donegal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great food. Great service. Highly recommended. No problem recommending this restaurant to anyone for any occasion

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennej34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Royal Villa Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing