We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #88 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B in good location”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight recently during a busy time in Galway. One of the prerequisites for staying somewhere was reliable free wireless internet.

For a change I opted to stay in a B&B. Price wise this B&B is at the higher end of the price range and just below a standard hotel room. I'm not sure if the price I paid is normal as there was a festival in Galway that week and tourism numbers were up.

I stayed in room 4. It was a large clean fresh double room. Bed was comfy and room had widescreen wall mounted TV, safe, tea/coffee facilities and a good sized en suite bathroom.

Previous reviewers commented on the rooms at the front of the house being noisy as its on a main road. This didn't bother me and would suggest that it might only effect you if you are sensitive to street noise.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty. Wifi was reliable throughout building.

Located very close to town, just a few minutes walk to Spanish Arch. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
86
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This B&B was overall a good place to stay. The room was small but clean and I liked the location. It was a short walk into town but far enough away that it wasn't immersed in all the tourist crowds. The nearby canal walk was lovely. The only complaint I have is that the walls were thin and the people in the room next door were too loud despite my numerous requests for them to tone it down. This included noisy sex where the bed was banging against the wall. I missed a few hours of valuable sleep because of that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judysilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked this b & b based on location & price, and we were not disappointed on either. Check in on Saturday evening was fast & smooth, Ivan was lovely and really helpful he even gave us a map & directions. Our room wad spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Perfect tea/coffee making facilities in the room & a lge tv. Breakfast was very tasty. Would def recommend to a friend & hope to stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

As other reviewers have said Desota bed and breakfast is well located a 5 minute walk from the main point of interest of Galway. The room was nice with a great tv and the breakfast was excellent. The wifi was good and the staff were friendly and gave some good advice on planning the rest of our trip. The bathroom was on the small side but overall we were happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great and the shower was really good. I was able to get a late check out for no extra cost. The whole attitude of the place was very relaxed and friendly. The City Centre was only a 6 minute walk away. I would return again if in Galway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBCott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycotton, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Heating was only switched as we entered the room, eventhough they were expecting us. No hand towel provided, had to ask for one. Our room had the boiler outside of it & it woke us repeatedly during the night when it came on. Bath towel was paper thin, ragged at the edges & had holes in it.
Wouldn't stay there again or recomnend it to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carriemags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nothing particularly special about the B&B - the wallpaper in the room was coming away on one wall, round the window was mouldy, and worst of all in December, was unacceptably cold. The breakfasts were good and the staff were friendly, but I wouldn't recommend Desota.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#28 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sliding Rock
The Sliding Rock
#54 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#119 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desota House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Desota House 54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desota House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desota House Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located, a scenic 5 minute walk from the centre of Galway City. All our rooms are ensuite and you can expect a comfortable stay in our property. We are located within 5 minutes walk from National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) and University College Hospital Galway (UCHG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Desota House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desota House b&b
Desota House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing