We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top B & B with beautiful furnishings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #73 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top B & B with beautiful furnishings”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We've stayed in plenty of B & Bs over the past couple of months, and this one would have to be one of the best. We had a beautiful double room at the front of the house, which was very clean and stylishly decorated - bed extremely comfortable (a rarity!). Wireless internet was included, and we were encouraged to use their printer for our boarding passes for the next day - much appreciated! There was a fantastic selection at breakfast, with the option of a traditional cooked breaky, or toast, cereals, fruit, muffins etc etc - we were pleasantly full as we departed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superduckandroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    67
    24
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
92
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Having stayed in Desota House numerous times this past year I felt I should write a review.
I have stayed 4 different rooms and found each as pleasant as the other. Some are far bigger than others but I was travelling on my own so always had enough space. The rooms are always clean, warm and each have a flat screen tv. Bathrooms are fine, with good water pressure in the shower - essential I think! Breakfast always fine, although I hate microwaved scrambled eggs! There's a good choice for the health conscious and not so health conscious. The location is perfect for walking to the city centre and I found the B&B easy to find, considering the first time I went I didn't know Galway at all and found it straight away.
Just bare in mind that this B&B does not have a communal sitting room or the like if that's what you're in to. Personally I don't ever look for such things as I believe a B&B is just that - bed and breakfast. It's not for hanging around in. So if you want to laze around during the day a hotel might suit you best.

Apart from all that, rates are good (goes up a bit in summer but to be expected), staff are very friendly and pleasant. I definitely recommend this B&B.

ONE MORE THING! There's free WiFi! Very much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2011

From the large, spacious rooms to the tastefully modern decor, this place is a must-stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and did I fawn over the beautiful (and not to mention ample & delicious!) breakfast room yet? Very close to the city center And shops (just across the bridge) but far enough that you are still on a residential road! I would recommend this place to everyone staying in Galway!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80feetdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Desota house and despite of the fact that my husband was ill, we've enjoyed our stay here. Especially the hospitality of the owners was excellent. They did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was very good, the bathroom a little bit small but whatever. Breakfast was very good and everything we wanted was there. Distance to city centre was an about 10 min. walk and positive was the parking lot at the back of the B&B. Martin gave us also good tips about visiting the area of Galway. Whenever we come back to the Galway region, we would definitely choose Desota House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnegansTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waidhofen an der Thaya, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Rooms were very nice and clean, TV, tea and coffee facilities. Internet access on the first floor. Breakfast was excellent (Irish Breakfast, porridge etc.). People were always friendly and very helpful (esp. pub recommendations...). B&B situated in a walking distance from the city center. We've had a wonderful stay!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cl_binder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room and ensuite was small but OK.

The staff were friendly.

The breakfast was lovely. There appear to be less tables and seats in the dining area than guests in the B&B and some guests had to wait for breakfast until a seat became vacant.

The hotel is close to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Partner's mother taken ill and was in the hospital at Galway - we stayed in three bed and breakfasts. The Desota being the third and the best of all - the two previous ones both more expensive were not a patch on this one.
Would definately recomend especailly room 2 - king size bed - fridge - flat screen t.v. - large shower - took some stress out of a difficult situation !
Very friendly, clean and a great breakfast !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#26 of 188 in Galway
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 188 in Galway
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#29 of 188 in Galway
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Apartments Galway
Budget Apartments Galway
#38 of 58 in Galway
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desota House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desota House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Desota House 54 Newcastle Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desota House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desota House Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located, a scenic 5 minute walk from the centre of Galway City. All our rooms are ensuite and you can expect a comfortable stay in our property. We are located within 5 minutes walk from National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) and University College Hospital Galway (UCHG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Desota House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desota House Hotel Galway
Desota House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing