We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self catering option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western Citypoint Apartments
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering option”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed in a beautiful 2BR unit on the fourth floor and balconies off the ensuite BD and out the front door. Everything was very clean and appliances modern, including washer/dryer. The unit had a flat screen TV and free wifi. We didn't cook anything so I can't speak to how well equipped the kitchen was.

If you haven't done your homework I can see where it would be a little tricky checking in but there is a parking garage across from the apartments under the shopping mall. You can park there and it is a short walk to the Western hotel to check. They will then give you a remote to enter the garage under the apartments.

Although it is very convenient to everything in Galway they are not noisy at night being on the edge of the tourist area. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandyalum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Have just returned from a 3 night stay here for St Patricks Day and it was great. Was travelling with my 2 year old and in laws in a 2 bedroomed apartment which is why I chose an apartment over a hotel as it allows more freedom and space. Check-in slightly inconvenient as you have to check-in at the Western Hotel up the street and its all a one way system so we just double parked outside the hotel and suffered the beeping of horns at us! Reception seemed slightly disorganised but very friendly and walked me out to direct me to the apartment car park. We managed to find it ok, basement car park with lift to take you to your apartment. We were on the fourth floor and the views over Galway city was great. The apartment itself was class, very modern decor, clean with everything you need. I had asked if they had a DVD player when booking but was told they had not but could see what they could do. I wasn't expecting to get one but they arrived with it along with kids DVDs for my little girl...very impressed. Unfortunately the heating did not seem to be working and Joanna, who was excellent , offered to move us to another until it could be fixed the following day but as we had unpacked we decided to stay and Joanna provided heaters. The internet connection also wasn't great but the management dealt with any problems quickly, efficiently and very amiably. Location was soo good, right beside a shopping centre and everything was within walking distance. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyroneLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Overall a good experience. We have gotten spoiled by the informal experience of renting cottages direct from a cheerful owner ("oh just leave the money on the table" etc). For Citypoint, the rental experience is more formal and impersonal due to its being part of the Western Hotel, but they are professional. Car park in an underground garage. Location as central as can be.

Overall the apartment was great, we got a one-bedroom with no balcony but floor to ceiling windows and views of bay. WiFi worked pretty well and modem was inside the apartment. Shower stall is very large and water pressure is good :) Bathroom is of good size, but there isn't a shelf to be seen! You'll have to leave all your toiletries outside the bathroom, except for your toothbrush and some hand soap. TV is flat-panel but only has a handful of channels and no DVD player. No blankets in the house meant also bad for snuggling on sofa.

Housekeeping leaves something to be desired. The kitchen was not totally clean when we got in. The stove had food crusted onto it and the water kettle was filled with dirty water with large particles floating in it...even after a good rinse we rendered it useless it was so filthy on the inside and just boiled water on the stove. The kitchen is ashamedly equipped. Not even a coffee press. Or a tea strainer for that matter. I asked management and they told me they had nothing to offer, that none of the apartments had coffee maker and they hadn't a spare coffee press (to be fair they were nice about it but still...). No beer glasses. No bottle opener. Paltry selection of everything else. An astonishingly lame setup for cooking, and ironic given they are renting a place with a full kitchen. They do not give free breakfast; another reviewer mentioned breakfast was included but it was not, we asked. Also, the apartment is not serviced. We didn't mind that but if we were staying longer than a few nights we probably would have wanted it to be cleaned or at least refreshed. Not sure their policy on that.

Our rate was €80, which is pretty good for what we're getting. We've had better deals in Ireland though. In Cork our apartment was smaller but similarly appointed and was €70 and we had a 4-bedroom house for €70 too so although this was relatively well-priced for the level of amenities I can't say it's a steal. Would recommend, I just so much prefer apartments to B&Bs because of the space, ability to cook, and ability to do some laundry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We spent 5 days in these superb apartments in September 2010 and couldnt fault them, the location was excellent, above TK Maxx, just off Eyre Square. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loosehead1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Overall a fantastic choice as we hav two small children, plenty of space, clean and modern. Would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbitboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed at the Citypoint Apartments last week and was very happy, it was clean and modern and you could very easily live there! The location was also good, right in the city centre of Galway near lots of shops and restaurants.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank lowracatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
170 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Excellent apartments in the centre of Galway. Ours was on the 4th floor with a balcony and with views inland over the urban landscape of inner city Galway, and some inescapable traffic noise, although not enough to stop us sleeping. Very spacious, clean, new, and well enough equipped to allow self-cooking. Much better than any hotel. It is a 2 minute walk to Marks & Spencers for good food shopping, a 5 minute walk to Eyre Square and the tourist alley leading down to the harbour, and no more than a 15 minute walk to anywhere else worth seeing in the city. Galway itself sadly could do with some money spent on the infrastructure of the inner city, but if pubs, tourists, irish music and expensive Guinness are what you want, then you will not be disappointed with the city centre. Despite the heavy drinking all around, and the saturday night hen parties accompanied by fire alarms getting us out of bed at 03.30, we felt perfectly safe walking around. Recommendations? Well investigate the more normal pubs outside the High St "Las Ramblas" zone which is pure high density tourism (try for example around Eyre St for more reasonable beer prices), the excellent No 8 bistropub in Dock Road (try the Galway Hooker beer), and escape on the bus and ferry out for a day walking on Inish Oirr in the Aran islands. Despite the glossy promises of the Aran Islands website, the walking "trail" is not well signposted and you have to make it up yourself: after a coffee and eats at Neds Bar, head past Cnoc Raithni and Teampall Chaomhan (a great little church hidden in the graveyard) to the Plassy Wreck, then backtrack to the tower on the highest point above the village and walk on SW to the end of the island. A wonderful way to escape the city and relive those episodes of Father Ted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicholisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
1,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Citypoint Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Citypoint Apartments

Property: Western Citypoint Apartments
Address: 33 Prospect Hill | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Western Citypoint Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Citypoint Holiday Apartments cater for up to 4 people per apartment and are conveniently located with Galway city centre on your doorstep. These apartments are self-catering and provide you with free car-parking (one car per apartment) and all the convenience and unrivalled views you would expect from a great central location. Our apartments are a 3 minute walk from Galway’s train and bus stations and right in the centre of its shopping district.The Western Citypoint Apartments are stylish, comfortable and ideal for a long or short break in Galway, where you want to enjoy a little bit of luxury at a great price. They are beautifully designed, fully equipped with all the comforts of home to make your holiday letting as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Western Citypoint Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing