We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro Pub”
Review of Massimo

Massimo
Ranked #158 of 483 Restaurants in Galway
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gastro Pub”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Found the food excellent, and selection of beers very interesting. Quality of staff service could be a little better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fogo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    63
    29
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Horrible bar staff and service. Extremely rude, food was overpriced and slow service. Considering the reviews I had seen, I was very disappointed. Will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place I wish I Could transport to Dublin”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I cant get over the poor reviews Eat @ Massimo seems to have gotten. Myself and my partner went in and had a delicious meal on new years day just gone. I had a ham, st. gall cheese and parsnip crisps pizza and it was absolutely scrumptious. She had one of the best burgers imaginable and we were almost licking our plates at the end. It's not mega cheap but I'd say to people - if you want to pay 8 quid for an average burger and a doughy run of the mill pizza don't come here. If you want fresh produce and wonderful ingredients and combinations and think that its worth paying a bob or two more then you're in for a treat. We paid thirty two quid for two which is very reasonable And criticisms of the staff are way off the mark. In fact, our waitress who was Australian lady was particularly good at her job and utterly friendly. It's a casual kinda place with comfortable & casual but excellent service. Next time I'm out west I'll be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dudley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Getting too bloody busy...”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Play good tunes, addition of food is a bonus (on the pricey side). Nice mix of a crowd frequent. Gets really busy as the other pubs in the area close.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a late lunch here on a freezing cold day and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Found the staff very child-friendly and the service was very good. The food was excellent and a bit quirky. They also serve a great pot of tea (very important!).

The only down-side was that the place itself was very cold and gusts of wind blew in, every time somebody came through the door. The price isn't cheap, but the quality of the food is better than most pubs though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayNools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massimo also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing