We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, quality food”

Il Folletto Ristorante
Ranked #111 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Italian restaurant, offering a wide range of authentic pastas and pizzas, steaks, veal and fresh fish dishes. Were cater for large groups with a private dining area. We are situated in the heart of Galway's latin quarter on Quay street. We have outside terrace dining area. Children's menu available.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, quality food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Was dining late on the Saturday evening and as a lot of the restaurants stop serving at 10pm, we were delighted to be given a table here. Staff were very friendly and chatty and certainly added to the experience. A wide ranging menu with lots to choose from. Service was prompt and the food was served without any real delay. Bruschetta and Sirloin Steak were very tasty and well up to my expectations. Good value for money and would definitely go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    109
    51
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great !”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great Food, Great Decor, Great Service, Very nice Owner...The food here is very good and price matches the quality of the food and service. I met the owner when I was sitting in the bar waiting for my friend...nice guy spoke about his business, and restaurant...Love the overall friendliness aspects in everithing.definite a place to eat in Galway

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxcents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor food, overbearing service!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant three times now and each experience was worse then the last. The last and final time I will go here saw a group of 9 people who were celebrating an occasion. The service was overbearing, what a waitress thinks is a joke was not taken up as so when a group of friends want to have a nice dinner. She was intrusive and unprofessional. The starter took 50 minutes to come out, I appreciate we were a large group but no apology was given! The starters were staggered which left some plates cold while we politely waited to all be served. The main course followed a further 45 minutes later, again staggered. Pasta was in very small portions and was served cold. The waitress did politely replaced the food. Chips were roasting hot but raw inside.
Wine flowed all night and it was clear that the staff placed more emphasis in bringing out alcohol then the food itself. I, who did not want to drink was asked more then 4 times if I wanted my glass filled even though I made it quite clear I was not drinking. I felt the waitress pushy.
The food was VERY overpriced for what we got and no apology was given for the late food.
I would not recommend this restaurant nor will I go here again. Galway has better to offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alohan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This restaurant was just next to our hostel. The waitor was very friendly and courteous cracking some jokes. Food was great and the dessert to die for. Be sure to try the chocolate cheesecake and pannacotta! I think this place has a good value and it's not overly expensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank aino_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I ate here recently and had a wonderful meal. Service and quality was excellent and was reasonably priced. Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martygil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Folletto Ristorante also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Il Folletto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing