We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Abbey Lodge after literally running out of a filthy B&B down the road. The owner at Abbey Lodge was very nice and he even carried our bag to the last available room at the top of the house. The room was small and had only skylights for light - not windows - but it was clean and contained coffee/tea making facilities and a tv set. The bathroom fixtures were clean, worked well and looked quite new. Rooms on the lower floors appeared to be larger than ours. The location is good for walking to the city centre and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the breakfast which was cooked to order - perhaps because we were there before the start of the tourist season. Good value if you are looking for basic, clean accommodation reasonably close to the city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house are small, so choose a room on a lower floor if you are claustroph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 148 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

The owner is very nice. We purchased this hotel room on Priceline. We paid the more expensive fee to get breakfast. When we arrived, she stated that we did not have breakfast. I do not think it was her fault, I believe Priceline made a mistake, but we paid a little more and could not prove it. She was very nice and offered to make us toast in the morning. We were honestly a bit disappointed with the room. It was rather small and did not have any decor. The tea maker was a bit dirty, but it was a nice bed and breakfast, just lacked the personal touches in the room. Also, in the bathroom there was an industrial toilet paper dispenser which was a bit odd. Also, the windows were lacking soundproofing so we could hear the road really loudly when a car would pass. Also, the vent in the bathroom was making a loud noise from the wind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank een7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I recently spend two nights at the Abbey Lodge. I would say it is a pretty good value B&B. It is a solid 15-20 minute walk into town based on where it is located north of the city center. It is a safe walk with good sidewalks for your journey. Our room (#1) was nice and clean. Bathroom was clean and shower worked fine with plenty of hot water. Wi-fi worked very well too. Breakfast was pretty much full Irish with cereal and toast. There were a couple other egg type option as well. One slight negative is that the 1st floor room is located by the main entrance and can be noisy with people coming in at night and with patrons leaving early in the morning. This wasn't the best B&B we've stayed at in the ten plus nights we've been in Ireland but there is nothing wrong it. Overall it is a good value for the price as long as you don't mind a little walk into town. As far as sightseeing in Galway goes it can pretty much be done in a couple hours. Most people use it as a base town for the Aran Islands and the Cliffs of Moher. There are some decent pubs with Irish music as well as some good options for budget meals unlike many other Irish towns we've visited.

Room Tip: If you book a double bed room you might want to shy away from room #1, it is located just inside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The decor, atmosphere and breakfast was very poor. The overall visit was the same experience as staying in a private room in a good hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

ideal location, very central, girl very friendly and helpful. great value for money, rooms quiet small but clean and comfortable. will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sligogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This place is brilliant! Five minute walk from town, good Breaky including fresh fruit and soy milk, great staff, new renovation, wifi, comfy beds. Really highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nspadaccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The room was fine, maybe a bit on the small side. But very comfortable. The proprietor was very welcoming, friendly and kind. The breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty and there was also a selection of fruit, cereal, yogurt etc. It is in a great location, close to the centre of Galway and its amenities and also close to Salthill. Enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#31 of 189 in Galway
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#106 of 189 in Galway
249 reviews
5.1 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#15 of 189 in Galway
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Abbey Lodge 1 The Stable | College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $84 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Lodge was professionally deigned by an award winning interior designer and will be your luxury home away from home during your stay in Galway city. Just a few minutes walk to Eyre Square, the centre and hub of Galway city. All amenities are close by with the award winning restaurant The Huntsman just 2 minutes away and the famous Connacht Rugby stadium on your doorstep. Whether you're coming for a quite weekend away with your loved ones or looking for a weekend break in Galway city, Abbey Lodge has the right room for you. At Abbey Lodge we pride ourselves on our running a clean, friendly bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing