We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Finn's Restaurant

Finn's Restaurant
Ranked #135 of 467 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
galway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Prices too high for what they offer. Service good. Frozen chips and what appeared to be frozen vegetables used rather than home cut potatoes and fresh locally sourced vegetables. Couldn't they state on the menu where they source their meat, fish, fruit & vegetables? Overall not good enough for a restaurant. Bread that was offered, a little thinly sliced. Over all, below average and definately over priced. Coffee burnt. And please, update your menu, it needs changing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clavin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mayo ireland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ok lets get the bad point out of the way first. This place does not take bookings!!!!! This sort of thing really annoys me as it is left to pot luck how long you may have to wait to get a table, so immediately you are left with a decision to make, should I stay (have I time to wait) or should I go (I have other things to do)! Sorry but this really really bugs me.
Once you do reach your table, you will see that the dining areas are warm and welcoming, most staff are good and the food portions are massive though still of high quality. If dining here, skip lunch otherwise you wont be able for 3 courses.
Would recommend despite the waiting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Top Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Been to many restaurants around the world,,and this rates as one of the best,,,top food,,the steaks are excellent,,lovely interior also..you may have to wait to be seated but you can have a drink at the bar,,worth the wait..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archway_PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“My FAVORITE Place To Eat in Galway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I absolutely LOVE this restaurant. The interior is nicely decorated and you have two options for seating--you can eat your food at the bar, or in candlelight in the main dining area. The food is wonderful and tastes super—I usually get the “surf and turf” and the creamy sauce the shrimp comes in is to die for—and the steak is super tender. They are always willing to cook your food to order, and will make special dishes if they are able to according to your wishes. The wine list is great, and the service has always been wonderful. They are quite busy on the weekends, so either get there early or come later in the evening. The only drawback, they are a bit on the pricey end, but it is a good splurge or treat!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Food was ok but way over priced. We had a voucher for 100 euro and our bill came to 111 euro for 2 adults & 2 kids. No starters. When we paid they didn't seem impressed and assumed when we gave them the voucher + 20 euro that we were giving a tip and just put the whole lot in the till with no change. So don't give anyone a voucher for here and if you want good food at expensive prices there are better restaurants in Galway.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finn's Restaurant also viewed

 
Tuam, County Galway
 
Tuam, County Galway
 

Been to Finn's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing