We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Fourwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fourwinds Lodge
Ranked #78 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay with Bernie and Jim. My daughter said that Bernie was like a grandma.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    21
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our hostess was friendly and the home while older was very nice. I didn't notice the public areas being dirty, but our room was horrifying! We stayed in a triple so there wasn't much room, which I'm ok with being I don't plan on spending much time in my room while on vacation. The carpet was in much need of vacuuming. The bathroom shower in our room was covered in mold!

I thought the location was ok, although it was difficult to find- not where the GPS said it was. Not a huge problem though.

If as much attention to detail was focused on the inside as there was to the gardens out front the place would be fabulous.

We didn't encounter any cats, just one very friendly dog and well behaved dog.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redheaded_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

What can I say about this place, it is a gem and one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. Arrived with a group of girlfriends and hostess was very helpful, gave us all the good shopping tips and advice on were to go. The breakfast was especcially fab with lots of choice. Loved my room which had a four poster bed! Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDevane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

After staying for one night we reupped for a second night. Hosts are very friendly, accomodating and helpful. Room was spacious with a great view of the bay. Breakfast was also very good. Only complaint is that there was no WiFi reception in our room on the third floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We were on a motorbike trip around Ireland, and called, late and last minute. The Hostess, stayed up late awaiting our arrival, and greeted us warmly, which in view of our wet condition, was very welcoming.
The room, although small, was cosy, clean, and very comfy. The view from the window of the beautiful garden below, and the sea was wonderful. The bathroom is a touch small, but the overall charm of the house/room and garden compensate.
Breakfast was excellent, and we are surprised to read reviews to the contrary.
The place is quiet, and so long as you have your own mode of transportation, the location is great. It is not in walking distance of Galway, or any shopping nearby.
The host and hostess, are remarkably friendly, with a keen sense of knowing when to provide privacy.
There is ample tourist information for visits in and around Galway.
We were able to leave our bags for the day , once we checked out, for a trip to the Cliffs of Moher (magnificent place), without any problems or feelings of hassle.
One of the warmest, and most welcoming B&B we encountered on our tour, and we recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Hostess was not very nice, rooms had no good heat, we slept in coats. Bathroom was smallest ive very seen and it was not clean. Th breakfast was complete rubbish and tasted terrible. Location is not very good either. I highly recommend to NOT stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IRL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I found Fourwinds Lodge back in 2009 and planned on staying just one night however Bernie was such a wonderful hostess & the Irish Breakfast was delicious we asked to stay another night. We went to the Aran Is's & came back for another night. And then another. All told we stayed 6 nights & would have stayed again but she was booked. Then last year I went back again! Bernie is helpful.....kind.....has brochures & info available. Galway is a key spot to do day trips: Kylemore Abbey, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, etc. all are easy access from there. I've sent one friend this year & she loved it too. If/when I get back to Ireland, I will go out of my way if necessary to visit Bernie & Jim & the Fourwinds Lodge

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieAnderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 188 in Galway
689 reviews
7.5 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#22 of 188 in Galway
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#31 of 188 in Galway
161 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lodge

Property: Fourwinds Lodge
Address: Gentian Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fourwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing