We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home, Great Hosts, Great Character!”
Review of Fourwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fourwinds Lodge
Ranked #85 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was our first B&B over the course of a 10 day vacation, staying at many different B&Bs. It was one of our favorites and set the bar high. The breakfast menu was delicious with many great choices. The property is beautiful with incredible gardens and a view of the ocean. The host was so helpful with our day trip planning and arranged for us to be picked up at the house- she went above and beyond to give us her input. She was friendly always available. The room was average but clean and homey. Other reviews complained of animals, however, I have a severe cat allergy and had no problems here. Overall, one of our favorite houses!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lechappell1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Fourwinds Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

Four winds lodge - the good.  Our hostess was lovely and was the only one so far who showed us a bell to ring if we needed anything at any time.  The breakfast was the absolute best we have had with a large variety of cooked breakfast, fresh fruit galore, multiple cheeses offered, yogurts, fresh French pressed coffee, I could go on on, it was fantastic.  The bedroom and bathroom were a decent size and the sheets were soft and the bed comfy. The water pressure was phenomenal. But only a bottle of hand soap was provided no bath soap or shampoo.  It was pretty quiet once people settled in for the night.  We were over the front door so we heard everyone slamming the door shut but that seemed to stop by about 9pm.  The home is beautifully decorated but does need maintenance.  The arm on the rocking chair was way loose, the towels were a bit thin and were mismatched, the shower had a fair amount of mildew both pink and black.  We got the distinct impression the cleaning is hired out and whoever does it should be fired. Still if you are looking for a place on the west of Galway near the beaches and golf club,want a great high powered showered and a high quality breakfast with loads of variety you should be pleased.  I forgave the bit of mildew once I climbed into the bed, and then saw the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flpisces67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Fourwinds in Salthill. the location was great and the views fromthe common areas and our rooms were magnificient. It was a 1.8 mile walk to the pubs in Galway but the walk was along the coast. The breakfasts were home cooked and you could choice among several entrees.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyfromLaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

poor welcome on arrival , very cold place no heating on and the weather was very cold, bedroom was a mix and match mostly very old furnishing , the gardern was great but the house did not match, there was no one to leave key with on departing so we just left with no good day or enjoy your trip never mind we wont be back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerwine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed here one night in September but was not impressed to see cats wandering around. The dog was outside but presume in the kitchen as was in the dining area on arrival. We are animal lovers but not like that.
Our room was very dated & not very clean. The bed broke the next morning as having coffee so could have been scalded. Was told sorry end of season. Not acceptable.
Breakfast was fair but the whole house needs a thorough cleaning & updating.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This was our first stop as we flew into Shannon Airport on May 4th. Never having been to Europe, Bernie and her husband were amazing hosts and truly welcomed us in the best possible fashion. We arrived early and that was not a problem and the accomodations were very good. We had internet, which was important to me with business back in the U.S. and the sunroom and breakfasts were top notch. We stayed a couple of days and visited the Aran Islands from there - just a short trip down the road. Being very close to the beach, we enjoyed walks and went both days to the Quays (I beleive that is how it is spelled), a collection of shops literally a 5 minute drive from the B&B. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forefather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My sister, brother-in-law, daughter and I stayed here in October of 08. Bernie was a very helpful, informative hostess. Her breakfasts were delightful and the rooms were ample and comfortably furnished. I have read some of the less than complimentary reviews and can only say that this was a very lovely B & B with a bit of character that one looks for in a different country. We thoroughly enjoyed the adventure and if I am ever fortunate enough to revisit Ireland, I would certainly stay here again. I am always in awe of people who convert their homes into accommodations for travelers. It takes special people to want to do this every week of the year, and the proprietress is every bit the congenial hostess.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinacrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#23 of 188 in Galway
63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#89 of 188 in Galway
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 188 in Galway
699 reviews
7.5 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lodge

Address: Gentian Hill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $118 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fourwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing