We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #15 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The place is friendly, clean and is located in a great spot for going out etc. The bar has excellent food and is lively at night! ....and the breakfasts are served the next morning until nearly midday!
The rooms are very modern and clean, and comfy...and the added security of a "card swipe" to acess upstairs to the rooms is good.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    102
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
68
167
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amazing hotel, modern, , spotlessly clean. Excellent food in restaurant and great breakfast, freshly baked scones and fresh fruit salad. Service was excellent. Free car park. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTCchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This Inn is easy to reach and has good parking just outside the city centre. Very modern, clean and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs has wonderful meals. The breakfast had freshly squeezed orange juice, tasty scones and a granola yogurt combo that was outstanding. As mentioned before the reception desk is not always staffed but that was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaverskins24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We traveled to the Huntsman Inn in May of 2013. The staff was friendly and the room was nice. We had some issues with getting hot water from the shower but it may have been user error. The attached restaurant had amazing food and the free breakfast was a bonus.It was about a 15 minute walk to the city center, if you don't mind the walk than I would highly recommend staying here and/or going to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Food is always enjoyable and the place is very relaxing for lunch.Parking is easy.Staff always pleasant .Good value for lunch. Always look forward to my lunch meetings there.The premises in always very clean and well kept.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ringo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Huntsman Inn appears to be more geared towards the restaurant/bar service than the hotel since there is rarely an attendee at the "front desk". Instead a sign reads that guests must find a staffer in the restaurant area. Once found (which was only a minute) the service was very good throughout our 2 night stay. The room we stayed (#113) was quite large and appeared to be a suite with a separate back room. This back room was rarely used during our stay since there was no tv, only a couch to sit on (despite containing an entertainment center). The room faced the main street where traffic noise is 90% cancelled by the double paned windows. The problem with noise came from the kitchen which geared up activities at ~6am. At this time we were awoken by very loud banging noises which to us seemed to shake the entire hotel and lasted for ~2 hours. Finally the second day I investigated the hallway to find a door 2 down from our room with a window blocked out entirely except for a sliver of view. Inside was the kitchen (upstairs?) where the racket occurred. I think I saw a comment about this very noise in another review here but only after we left. Not sure much can be done about this except to avoid that room. Aside from the banging the Inn was very nice. Clean rooms/bathroom and breakfast was very good. It is more than a 10 minute walk to downtown, more like 20 minutes but this didn't stop us from making it several times. I would like to give 4 stars but the noise was just too loud and disturbing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four of us ate at the Huntsman and found the atmosphere to be modern and wait staff was friendly. The food very good especially the lamb. We went to the Huntsman on recommendation from our B&B hosts and were not at all disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired1FortMyers_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: The Hunstman 164 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsman Inn is one of Galway’s most impressive bars and yet has maintained a personal touch whichwill never fail to make an impression on each and everycustomer. With great food and drink and a friendly atmosphere, we are sure your time spent with us willbe memorable. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing