We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #16 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived in at 7pm. with a small child, we were made feel very welcome. The Staff brought out Crayons and a colouring book brought for my daughter.... Staff were so friendly and attentive.... Our food was just 'DELICIOUS'.... And even better the meal for my 2 year old daughter was just as tasty as ours.....Desserts were heavenly...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    101
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
68
167
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for one night while passing through Galway and were happy. Our room was not large but was well equipped and pretty comfortable. The breakfast choices were different to the norm and we enjoyed the change. One gets the clear impression that the hotel is an afterthought, ranked behind the bar/restaurant in importance to the management - the reception desk was seldom manned, and the 'receptionist' seemed to double as waitress and a cleaner for most of her time. Full marks to her, though, she did an excellent job despite all the challenges she seemed to face.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Fairways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to meet a client. Easy parking, great food, pleasant staff and good value. Loyalty points allow great savings for consistent customers. Staff member Ian is a fantastic addition to have in any arsenal of a workforce and complements the premises very well.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

If staff are friendly and the place is clean that's a good start for me, the huntsman in my eyes is both of those. Even though its a Busy restaurant there is a nice easy athmosphere and you don't feel rushed. The food always comes quickly and looks and tastes fresh. It may be a little pricy but its worth it. I also feel I should mention that the service seems to be getting better and better. If there was one complaint its don't use dill but that's a personal preference. So keep up the good work. Also should mention I don't live far away so never stay but it didn't give me the option to review just the bar

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. The rooms were very large and nicely appointed. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and the hotel was super clean. The food was excellent. I would defiantly return. The hotel is about 15mins walk from the city centre and is among the best hotels I have stayed in in Galway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at the Huntsman last week for 2 nights as part of our tour of the West of Ireland. Location wise it is great - easily accessible from the main roads, on site parking and a 10 minute walk from Eyre Square and the hustle and bustle of the city. It is situated right beside a main road however which can get a bit noisy if leaving windows open at night. The lady who was on reception was lovely and she seemed to be everywhere during our stay both day and night - working reception, the bar, taking food orders, cleaning - a real star and a credit to the hotel. All of the staff we had dealings with were very helpful. The reception isn't always manned and we had a bit of trouble trying to order a taxi as a result of this - given the size of the hotel however this is understandable that a full time receptionist couldn't be justified. The rooms were spacious and clean with free wifi and a DVD player too. We ate one evening at the hotel and were very impressed - to start with, the seafood chowder was thick and creamy although it lacked a bit of flavour. We also waited around 30 minutes after ordering to receive it which was strange considering it is basically just a bowl of soup with bread! For main course I had a burger which was quality - a high standard of beef dressed well and not overcooked like a lot of places do. While staying at the hotel the keycards for our rooms wiped themselves on both days meaning we couldn't access the hotel or our rooms - a problem which was quickly corrected on both occasions by the staff but one which could potentially prove difficult if trying to get into the hotel late at night. Without a doubt the best part of our stay was the breakfast each morning. Such a great selection of food and all included in the price of the room. The full Irish breakfast was well cooked and verging on artistic - a modern interpretation of the old favourite. The home made baked beans were absolutely superb and I would love to know the recipe for them! The black pudding/potato/egg/bacon breakfast was also superb and my only regret is only staying 2 nights so that I couldn't have more mornings to try the rest of the breakfast menu! Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a sailing weekend and it was just the spot, rooms were clean, staff friendly and breakfast excellent. A fair distance from Galway centre, so if you're after that it might not be ideal but otherwise highly recommended

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondontoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: The Hunstman 164 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsman Inn is one of Galway’s most impressive bars and yet has maintained a personal touch whichwill never fail to make an impression on each and everycustomer. With great food and drink and a friendly atmosphere, we are sure your time spent with us willbe memorable. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing