We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel near the Centre”
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #17 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Hotel near the Centre”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Accommodation is 10 minutes’ walk to the Centre and it’s easy to arrive by car. We had the room nr. 114, very big and comfortable with the bathroom big too. During the day there is noise from the traffic of the street but in the night it’s more quit (even if it isn’t completely calm). All the staff is very friendly and kind. If you are tired and you don’t want to move from the Hotel in the evening you can have dinner in the Restaurant where you can eat well. Besides if you like on Saturday evening you can listen live music but if prefer quietness there are also others 2 big dining room. No problem for parking : there is a free Private Parking

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    106
    36
    11
    12
See reviews for
71
171
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had heard food was nice here so went for lunch and find it hard to believe at lunchtime you cant get a plain ham and cheese sandwhich. Really needs to get with reality. Menu didnt cater for everyone just a certain type of people. Staff werent very helpful and seemed to think it was ok to stand around and comment about the customers. Wont b going back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed a few nights while touring.
The staff were great, helpful friendly. The only downsides were the noisy main road at front and the tired decor.
This place would have scored an excellent five years ago, but it needs decorating and freshening up. Which is a shame as the staff were lovely.
It is a bit of a walk to the main square and nightlife, which I didn't mind but note that its not on your door step!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner at The Huntsman Inn and the service was second to none. I had the linguine seafood and my husband had seafood platter. They were so tasty and fresh and we'd highly recommend both. We were delighted with the wide selection of beers too! For dessert we had the toberlone cheesecake. I didn't expect much from it but it was sweet and light- a fantastic treat. I'd highly recommend a stop at the Huntsman inn and we might even stay the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EimyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from our Galway weekend. Very impressed! Rooms nice and very clean - all you need(including iron and tea/coffee kit in it) is there. Restaurant and bar both great! Food is delicious and service fast and very attentive. Fish&chips and toblerone Cheesecake to die for;) location great - 3 minutes driving from centre - still very close to all busy pubs and clubs. Very happy with stay - will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agastevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This busy restaurant offers some excellent food options. Of particular note are the vegetarian options. It was my first time to see quinoa served as part of a bar food menu. I dropped a star for the bathrooms, which were dirty when visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaschG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The best place for food in Galway, Was in here on a Saturday lunchtime, the barman heard me discuss a dish I had on a previous visit that wasn't on the menu anymore and insisted on checking if the chef would cook this dish anyway. He did and it was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor_M186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,783 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: The Hunstman 164 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsman Inn is one of Galway’s most impressive bars and yet has maintained a personal touch whichwill never fail to make an impression on each and everycustomer. With great food and drink and a friendly atmosphere, we are sure your time spent with us willbe memorable. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing