We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Huntsman Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Huntsman Inn
Ranked #15 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Dined here twice over the summer and hope it won't be long before I can go again. The food was excellent, service with a smile from very pleasant and attentive staff. Loved the fish cakes, and my partner really enjoyed the fish in beer batter, very light crisp batter. Plenty of choice to suit all tastes, I was there with my family for Sunday lunch and the restaurant was very busy but didn't feel it as it is spacious and service was prompt. Lots of parking. Close to city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wortley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    95
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
154
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Went here for lunch recently. The place is very slick and stylish and yet comfortable and inviting. It was really busy with a good mix of clientelle from tourists to office staff to families. The food was very well presented and delish. Service was efficient but could have been a little friendlier. Very polished operation .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Delishyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night at the Huntsman Inn. The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful. Dinner did not disappoint and the breakfast was big, varied, plentiful and one of the best I have had in a hotel.
The hotel and bar are very clean and inviting. A pleasant 10 min walk to Galway city center. The Huntsman Inn was a real find.
Stay, you wont regret it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. the place was buzzing, I heard a saying that goes something like this " if you can train the irish staff to be the best in their chosen career & then let them be their own personality your on to a winner." Well whoever is running the huntsman is working from this type of ethos as the staff though rushed of their feet were totally on the ball. We ate there on both nights of our stay & I must say seafood curry & organic salmon were fab. Great location (a 10 min walk from Eyre Square) ample free parking. My quibble (small) was that our room was fantastic, spotless but noise from traffic made for some difficulty sleeping (this is also due to the fact that I am unused to traffic noise). really enjoyed my stay here & did so as a result of reviews from Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahsloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stay here for one night in August, Hotel was very easy to locate, free car park, easy check in, and lovely bar areas. The food was lovely staff were kept busy and very rushed off their feet. Hotel bedroom was very very warm but had a good window to open. Slept well and shower is lovely. Hotel close to city centre. 5 min drive. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of food.
Enjoyed stay would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Two adults and one child had lunch there recently. The food was top class, the desserts even better and the value for money is excellent. My favourite is the beer battered fish and chips with minted green peas and the chocolate hazelnut brownie is worth driving to Galway for. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive without ever being pushy. Just wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and I thought it was great.
It's a stylish gastro pub, and the rooms continue that theme, nicely decorated, spacious and good bathroom.
Breakfast was fab, excellent portions and very tasty - my boyf had the full monty, I had eggs florentine one day and smoken slamon benedict the next.
We also ate lunch in the restaurant one day, and again the food was great quality and value for money.
At Euro 80 per night B&B I thought it was great value

It's a little way out of town (about 15 mins walk) which might put some people off, although to my mind having a short walk at least offsets against all the eating!
The only think I think I would suggest is some nice art on the bedroom walls. But in the scheme of things that is very minor!

Room Tip: Ask for room 110, it's spacious (and the lady who checked us in told us it was the nicest in her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Property: The Huntsman Inn
Address: The Hunstman 164 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Huntsman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntsman Inn is one of Galway’s most impressive bars and yet has maintained a personal touch whichwill never fail to make an impression on each and everycustomer. With great food and drink and a friendly atmosphere, we are sure your time spent with us willbe memorable. We look forward to welcoming you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing