We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in a perfect location”
Review of Sli Na Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sli Na Mara
Ranked #20 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Algorta, Pais Vasco, Spain
2 reviews
“Great hospitality in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Besides being a clean and spacious B&B, the great great hospitality of their owners and the near location to the city centre, made it the perfect stay for us. We stayed two nights with a baby and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Yoko S,

Thank you for your recent review!

We were only too happy to accommodate you and your family and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    50
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
82
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was disappointed in this b&b as there were so many good reviews on Trip Advisor. The owners, especially the lady, seemed too busy for us, even seemed annoyed by our presence. No tips on what to see in Galway, no "chatting over a cuppa" as advertised in certain guides. We spent two nights there. The first morning the lady would not bother make more coffee as we were last having breakfast, we could also see that our breakfast had been prepared in advance and was warmed up in the oven. What happened? Personal problem? Did we do something wrong? For a b&b of that price and reviews we did not expect that. Room was small and mattresses of poor quality, but pretty clean. They say there is off street parking but there are two-three spots available only. Good location, quiet neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jacinthe L,

Many thanks for your recent review and constructive feedback. We were very disappointed to hear that your recent stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been and do apologize if any negative impression was experienced. We pride ourselves on providing the highest level of service possible and were sorry to hear that your expectations were not met on this occasion.

We do hope an opportunity arises in the near future to welcome you back to Sli Na Mara where we are confident a more enjoyable stay will be had!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family,
Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our group of 6 stayed at Sli Na Mara for 2 nights in July, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay! As others have mentioned in their reviews, Bridie was the best! She was the perfect hostess. Very accommodating, helpful, friendly and warm. The location was a plus as we were able to walk everywhere! The rooms were comfortable (even with the unusually high temperatures in Galway at the time, she had fans to try to cool things down), and they were quiet too! Breakfast was top notch as she had plenty of options to accommodate everyone! Of all the B&B's we stayed at during our trip (we stayed at 5 total), this one was our favorite! I hope we'll have a chance to visit again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
David, thank you for your kind words. The weather was amazing during your stay, sadly we have not seen those temperatures since..I think you packed the sun with you on your departure ...

Hope to see you all again soon,

The Thomson Family
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took some of my friends to my places in Ireland, one of which is Galway. I booked us in at Sli na Mara, and it proved to be a very good choice. We were given a very friendly welcome; good information; very comfortable rooms for a reasonable price. Situated 10 min's walk from Quay Street, Sli na Mara makes one of the best choices for your stay in Galway

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgilArendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I was delighted to read your review and see that you enjoyed your stay, prehaps you will return again soon.

Kind Regards
The Thomson Family
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three wonderful days and nights at Sli Na Mara in Galway in July 2013. Bridie and her husband were great hosts and helpful to us in giving information about Galway. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food was great. We loved Galway's vibrancy. The B and B is a short 10 minute walk from the main part of Galway--which provides for a quieter and calm nighttime.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellingham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Bellinghan2013,

Many thanks for your kind words! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Galway in the near future!

Kind regards,
The Thomson Family,
Galway .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Sli Na Mara for 6 nights and couldn't fault it in any way. I only saw George once but he kindly carried my (heavy) bag up the stairs to my room. Bridie is an absolute delight, offering helpful advice, suggestions and directions. She is friendly, bright, bubbly and very caring.
The Guest House is, as others have commented, just a short walk into the heart Galway city yet removed from the noise and congestion. It is also very close to the Promenade for anyone wishing to do a nice walk.
I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to review our business and thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to have read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Prehaps you will return some day in the not to distance future.

Kind regards
The Thomson FAmily
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I chose this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews & we are so happy we did! Bridie was fantastic, welcoming, and a great cook! The breakfasts were the perfect way to start your day, the location was quiet and conveniently close to a grocery store, tourist bus stop, and about a 10 minute walk to Quay Street. The rooms were clean and plenty big for European standards. I appreciated the parking available and Bridie's recommendations for dining and entertainment. (Try to make it to The Crand for live Irish music!) She improved our already amazing trip 10-fold! This is truly a great value and I see no reason to stay anywhere else when visiting Galway in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Ryan, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our business. Thank you for mentioning The Crance Bar, it doesnt get quite alot of hype as it should.I am delighted to see that you really did enjoy your stay....THANK YOU

Regards
The Thomson FAmily
Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 45 in Galway
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 186 in Galway
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sli Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sli Na Mara

Property: Sli Na Mara
Address: Sli Na Mara 9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Galways's famous Promenade and the bustling city centre, Sli Na Mara offers comfort and a traditional Irish welcome to The City of the Tribes. A five minute stroll will take you to the heart of Galway city where sight seeing attractions, pubs and restaurants are plentiful. Sli Na Mara is perfect for those on business with its free Wi-Fi or those wishing to take advantage of all Galways has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sli Na Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing