We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family-run B&B”
Review of Sli Na Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sli Na Mara
Ranked #20 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely family-run B&B”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our 2 nights at Sli Na Mara. Located just a short, 5-10 minute walk from the heart of central Galway it offers the best of both worlds-- easy access to all the action, but a quite a safe place to come back to at the end of the day. Our room was quite small, but equipped with everything we needed for our 2 nights. The breakfast (served between 8-9:30am) was lovely & filling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Tim,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope that overall you enjoyed your stay in both Galway and at our home. I was sadden to hear about how you felt about the room. I would have thought the twin room was quite large for 2 people sharing. Had this been brought to our attention I am sure we would have arrange a more suitable sized room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
85
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Whitestrand Park is a nice mid-town neighborhood in Salthill, so Sli Na Mara gives you a genuine experience of being a local homeboy/girl. It is indeed very conveniently-located; getting to the Spanish Arch and nearby attractions was a very easy walk. When we called Bridie on our cellphone from County Kerry, she helped us a lot with FINDING her place. That matters a lot when you're a foreigner (as we were) who's driving into Galway for the first time (as we did). I agree with all the comments here regarding the cleanliness of the room and the linens. Also, the shower in my room was easy to figure out; i've been in a lot of hotels where the shower was difficult to use. Like the others on this website, i enjoyed my breakfast very much; the fruit breads and the yogurt were both especially good. Bridie gave us excellent suggestions on how to drive around Connemara and enjoy its nature; i don't think we'd have seen as much of County Mayo, or enjoyed it as much, if we'd not had Bridie's driving directions. She also helped us find the venue for Trad on the Prom, a very good program of Irish music and dance if you're in Galway. All in all, i'd recommend George and Bridie as being among the very best of B&B hosts.

Room Tip: Want a good room in Ireland? Don't stay in the City of Killarney. In fact, don't even driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Tim,

Well what can I say but thank you. Your review is a delight to read. I try my very best to meet guests needs, I know if I were travelling around I would find it very helpful having someone informative to help with directions etc.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and trip to Galway,

Many thanks
Bridie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent location in a quite place, 15 minutes from city center, 5 minutes from the sea.
A lovely family, a lovely dog, confortable bedroom and very good breakfast!

I will go back for another wonderful stay in Galway.

Thank you Briddie!

Yolanda

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasanz2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Yolanda, many thanks for your review and for staying with us during your time in Galway. Maybe some day we will see you return.

Regards
Bridie George and Hannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We chose to stay w/ Bridie without any reference other than the Irish B&B Internet pages. We are so glad we picked Sli Na Mara. Bridie invited us in as if we were her family right from the outset. Her home is immaculate, and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. She assisted us w/ travel suggestions, reference materials for geneology research, and some great places in town to both dine and shop at. The large downstairs living room, with plenty of local reference material to read, was very comfortable in the evening after a day of touring. We will go back to Galway again, soon. And when we do, we hope Bridie has room for us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Carroll family, many thanks for your kind review. It was lovely to have you all stay with us during your trip to Ireland. I do hope the remainder of your trip was just as special as Galway was for you.

Regards
Bridie George and Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in Sli Na Mara for 2 nights in April while on holiday in Galway and would definitely come back. This homely B&B is indeed a short walking distance from all the action yet it is in a quiet residential area of this lovely city.

Runners and walkers would especially appreciate the location - the place is literally a couple of minutes from the coast and picturesque walking/running trails along the coast and out to Mutton island. With Bridie's very helpful directions we had some pretty unforgettable scenic runs after home cooked breakfast.

The room was very clean and comfortable, had everything we needed and breakfast too was tailored to our vegetarian needs. Would definitely recommend both Galway and Sli Na Mara!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for just one night but it was a great place. Excellent location - walking to pretty much everything but away from the noises for a peaceful nights sleep. Really friendly hosts, gave us information on where to go next and were very welcoming. They even gave us easter eggs as we stayed on Easter Sunday - nice touch! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Many thanks for you review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and of course those Easter eggs.

Thank you,

Bridie Thomson
Sli Na Mara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Birdie Thomson, the owner of this lovely Bed and Breakfast is a delightful, hard-working hostess. She was very kind, energetic and personable to our party. We had a blast, the home, private bedrooms and pretty, ideal location were perfect. Her full Irish breakfast was delcious and filling. Can't say enough about this welcoming home in the ideal location--a short and pleasant l0 mins from the action.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Wendy, thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Hope your all doing well there.

Many thanks

Bridie Thomson
Sli Na Mara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 188 in Galway
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#31 of 188 in Galway
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#15 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
673 reviews
2.5 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#12 of 188 in Galway
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sli Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sli Na Mara

Property: Sli Na Mara
Address: Sli Na Mara 9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Galways's famous Promenade and the bustling city centre, Sli Na Mara offers comfort and a traditional Irish welcome to The City of the Tribes. A five minute stroll will take you to the heart of Galway city where sight seeing attractions, pubs and restaurants are plentiful. Sli Na Mara is perfect for those on business with its free Wi-Fi or those wishing to take advantage of all Galways has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Sli Na Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing