We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Great location in the heart of salthill.”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Got there last friday evening met with Peter (the aussie) the boss,his wit, friendleness and charm took us by surprise he was so helpful and friendly not every manager takes the time to ask the names of the whole group and further more addresses you by name for the whole weeend, he is one gentleman. The hotel was spotless, the bed was so comfortable.The bar down stairs was great with a lovely friendly atmosphere.Lohans excellant for dinner and breakfast.Had a really lovely weekend in Salthill and Peter we will be back;

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germiShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went to Salthill for a concert and stayed there for the night the room was basic and clean, the host Peter was very helpfull with checking in (evening as the hotel was fully booked) Great Location 10 mins from city centre, local bars and restaurants aswell just outside the hotel door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were so well looked after by Peter, the owner. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and the shower was excellent. All Peter's recommendations were spot on. Thank you and we really hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great for a family with one child and really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pudlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Yes, the manager is friendly and helpful but that is the only positive thing I can say. We were travelling round Ireland and this was the worst and, by comparison, the most expensive place we stayed. We paid 59 euros for a double room (which is the same price we had paid the previous night for a luxury B & B with breakfast in Clifden) which was small, poorly decorated with a very uncomfortable bed and this does not include breakfast. We paid 63 euros for a luxurious room in the Radisson Blu in Athlone with a magnificent breakfast. No comparison. Our single friend paid 49 euros and this again was the most expensive room he had on the tour and also the worst. Bathroom was poky with barely enough room to move. Hot water to the tiny shower was intermittent. There is no residents lounge but you can go into the pub which is below the hotel. It is a good walk into Galway - about 25 minutes - although it is an easy, flat walk. The hotel is very run down but when I spoke to the manager the following day about the bed he said that our room was the next to have a new bed. Really? We were on the second floor and there is no lift but the manager did offer to carry our bags up for us. The room was hot and stuffy and we could not leave the window open as the smokers from the pub downstairs gather in the doorway and the smoke drifts upwards. Also the taxi rank is outside and the taxis leave their engines running all night. I would not recommend this hotel - we found some lovely B & Bs down the road which were cheaper and provided much nicer rooms. We will definitely be returning to Galway as it is a fun city but will NOT be staying here. There is no parking but we were lucky to find a space on the street. This is not a hotel, it is an overpriced pub with rooms.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front or over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

As others have noted, the manager Peter is a very friendly and helpful fellow. He was really charming and did a lot to help us with directions and places to eat or shop. Our rooms were kept spotless, and although it wasn't luxurious the rooms and beds were comfortable. Great blow drier in the room. Salthill is a fun suburb of Galway, with a great nearby walk along the Galway Bay, and good convenience stores and varied restaurants, pubs and a microbrewery nearby.

The pub downstairs is popular and can get noisy. Also, don't expect a typical hotel type experience. It


Overall a great experience and we hope to go back.

Room Tip: One warning. One night after a particularly exciting football game we were serenaded by happy, singi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Smack bang in the center of Salthill just where you want to be. Nice hosts, Peter was lovely and friendly. Lovely bar downstairs. Rooms are a bit dated but were spotlessly clean and had a nice powerful hot shower. Great price , great location!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorcha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night a couple of weekends ago. Initially it was meant to be 4 girls but ended up 3. We arrived, had to park on the street (luckily we found one) and pay for parking. Peter welcomed us very warmly and was extremely friendly and helpfull. The price of the hotel doesnt include breakfast which is hard on us hungover girls in their 20's.
Salthill is unfortunately a bit run down also, the recession has not been kind to such a lovely town.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#32 of 46 in Galway
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
6.1 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
722 reviews
6.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,171 reviews
2.8 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Address: Holiday Hotel 181 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $47 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing