We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean and friendly owner”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and friendly owner”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were so well looked after by Peter, the owner. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and the shower was excellent. All Peter's recommendations were spot on. Thank you and we really hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great for a family with one child and really peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Yes, the manager is friendly and helpful but that is the only positive thing I can say. We were travelling round Ireland and this was the worst and, by comparison, the most expensive place we stayed. We paid 59 euros for a double room (which is the same price we had paid the previous night for a luxury B & B with breakfast in Clifden) which was small, poorly decorated with a very uncomfortable bed and this does not include breakfast. We paid 63 euros for a luxurious room in the Radisson Blu in Athlone with a magnificent breakfast. No comparison. Our single friend paid 49 euros and this again was the most expensive room he had on the tour and also the worst. Bathroom was poky with barely enough room to move. Hot water to the tiny shower was intermittent. There is no residents lounge but you can go into the pub which is below the hotel. It is a good walk into Galway - about 25 minutes - although it is an easy, flat walk. The hotel is very run down but when I spoke to the manager the following day about the bed he said that our room was the next to have a new bed. Really? We were on the second floor and there is no lift but the manager did offer to carry our bags up for us. The room was hot and stuffy and we could not leave the window open as the smokers from the pub downstairs gather in the doorway and the smoke drifts upwards. Also the taxi rank is outside and the taxis leave their engines running all night. I would not recommend this hotel - we found some lovely B & Bs down the road which were cheaper and provided much nicer rooms. We will definitely be returning to Galway as it is a fun city but will NOT be staying here. There is no parking but we were lucky to find a space on the street. This is not a hotel, it is an overpriced pub with rooms.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front or over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

As others have noted, the manager Peter is a very friendly and helpful fellow. He was really charming and did a lot to help us with directions and places to eat or shop. Our rooms were kept spotless, and although it wasn't luxurious the rooms and beds were comfortable. Great blow drier in the room. Salthill is a fun suburb of Galway, with a great nearby walk along the Galway Bay, and good convenience stores and varied restaurants, pubs and a microbrewery nearby.

The pub downstairs is popular and can get noisy. Also, don't expect a typical hotel type experience. It


Overall a great experience and we hope to go back.

Room Tip: One warning. One night after a particularly exciting football game we were serenaded by happy, singi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eb1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Smack bang in the center of Salthill just where you want to be. Nice hosts, Peter was lovely and friendly. Lovely bar downstairs. Rooms are a bit dated but were spotlessly clean and had a nice powerful hot shower. Great price , great location!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorcha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night a couple of weekends ago. Initially it was meant to be 4 girls but ended up 3. We arrived, had to park on the street (luckily we found one) and pay for parking. Peter welcomed us very warmly and was extremely friendly and helpfull. The price of the hotel doesnt include breakfast which is hard on us hungover girls in their 20's.
Salthill is unfortunately a bit run down also, the recession has not been kind to such a lovely town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Peter the manager couldnt have been more helpful. Rooms were spotless and good value. While it not because boutique hotel it's a great hotel. The bar in the hotel wasn't bad either!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Diarmuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

booked to stay in the holiday hotel in salthill 9 weeks previous to the date,3 days before we were ment to go my friend was rang to say it was double booked,the got us a b and b but the point i am making is that if i wanted a b and b thats what i would have booked in the first place. the have only 10 rooms if the had any more the would not be able to cope.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ferbanemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#34 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#23 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 45 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Property: Holiday Hotel
Address: Holiday Hotel 181 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing