We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great in Galway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #48 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great in Galway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

After the long flight from The States and then a 3 hour bus ride from Dublin, Delores' lovely, smiling face was a very welcomed sight. She is a friendly beam of sunshine and she made our stay at The Forge a very positive experience. The location is a short walk to The Latin Quarter and all that Galway has to offer. Our room (top of the stairs and to the right) was big enough, the bathroom on the small side, but the bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well all three nights we stayed at The Forge. Remember, it is a B&B so soundproofing isn't really an option. You will hear what is going on in your neighbor's rooms. However, noise and conversations were never enough to keep us from rest. Breakfast was very good and plenty to keep you going throughout the day. Absolutely recommended if you are looking for a bargain in Galway.

Room Tip: Delores will be happy to arrange a tour with Galway Tour Company or you. They'll even pick you u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a lovely stay here at this B&B in Galway City. It is in a great location in the center of town, easy to get anywhere, while still being in a nice quiet area. The room itself was very nice, clean, and comfortable; a very welcome thing after a day (or night) walking around Galway.

Dolores was an excellent host, immediately taking care of me as soon as I arrived, and giving me some good tips for exploring their city. Breakfast was also amazing, a very delicious way to start my day. Delores & Bernard are wonderful people, and have an amazing little place here in the heart of Galway. They even run a cool music recording studio (The Forge) next door.

I'll definitely have to try to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fine, basic accommodation. It was downright freezing while we were in Galway, so the room was a bit chilly, but we warmed up under the covers. Dolores was an excellent host with great recommendations and she is a great cook. The breakfast was way more than we needed, but all delicious and warming for the day. The location was great. Not noisy, but so close to all of the places you want to be in town. Success!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the fourth bed and breakfast I have stayed at during our road trip round ireland. The best yet. Comfy bed, fantastic service and all round great character. I am here for a second night as I write this review. I have never been made to feel so welcome in my life and to top it off they also have a recording studio at the back that Snow Patrol recorded in and they let me in to play the drum kit at daft oclock at night. Definitely my kind of place and my kind of people. The breakfast here is the perfect hangover cure, beautifully cooked and presented with a fab smile. Brilliant. Thank you to Dolores and family for making this trip so memorable. Never to be forgotten. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a lovely two nights at the Lodge. Dolores made us feel very welcome from the moment we rang the doorbell to the moment we left. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts delicious! We had been tempted to stay closer to the bay but this was definitely the best choice. So close to all the bars and restaurants and a beautiful stroll down the road to the beach. Couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_clare44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at the Forge for 3 nights. It was adorable and clean. Dolores is amazing and she is great cook! If you are looking for a quaint place to stay in Glaway look no further! The rates are reasonable as well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wingkirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend this cozy B &B. My room and bed were comfortable, Delores was friendly and so helpful, breakfast was fantastic, and the location was great. Within walking distance of everything i wanted to do. I really enjoyed my stay and will not hesitate to come back the next time I travel in Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenComiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#19 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#32 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Property: The Forge House B&B
Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Forge House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing