We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Kerry
1 review
“Hotel Quality!”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We recently stayed in Amber Heights for three nights on a trip to Galway. We chose Amber Heights due to the extremely reasonable price and the pictures on the website which looked fantastic. After a long drive from Kerry, it was lovely to be welcomed into a warm and inviting guesthouse. The room was beautiful and easily comparable to 4 or 5* hotel quality. The room was big with a double and single bed, wardrobe, flat screen tv and ensuite. The decor was just beautiful and really unexpected for a reasonably priced guesthouse. The small touches were what made this experience lovely including chocolates on the pillows everyday, the room being cleaned daily, free internet access and free teas and coffees available downstairs at any time. The breakfast was priced at just 6euros pp and was delicious. The only drawback is that it is a bit of a walk to Salthill (only about 15 mins) so it is better if you have a car if you are staying here. Apart from that, I loved my stay here and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    11
    10
    0
See reviews for
22
36
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Áth Cliath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Standards of a hotel with the price of a b&b. Free parking, lovely furnishings and friendly staff make this my number 1 place to stay in Galway.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domhnall32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

During my week travelling around Eire, this was the best accommodation I stayed in though one of the Maldron chain in outer Dublin was a close second. The large detached house is almost new so facilities as well as its furnishings (huge lcd TVs etc.) were top notch. I had the chalet (apartment around the back) with its lounge and kitchen-if I had known this, would have brought some ice cream :). Although slightly outside central Galway, it was still closer to town than everywhere else I stayed and the area is very up market so basically here for a modest price,you get the lot - WIFI,parking, new facilities,well lit bathroom, and still walking distance to west centre and sea in what for me turned out to be Eire's most vibrant city. Didn't need modestly priced breakfast so can't comment but it's clear lads running the place aim to please. Only final comment is that with booking.com most bookings are paid for in advance but not here so if I hadn't handed back keys on leaving could easily have unintentionally left without paying which would have been unfortunate:) All in all , very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernardmlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great location, less than 5 mins drive to village centre where there are lots of restaurant. Good size, smoke free and well layout room. The whole property is very clean. Cooked breakfast is great. A coffee machine and wide choices of tea (complimentary) in the lounge area add a nice touch to the place. Owners are very friendly and helpful. I was unwell and they offered to cook something not listed in the menu for my breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner room has a double bed and single bed and still have lots of space to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foo-Kwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband, two year old daughter and a friend of ours stayed at Amber Heights for a Saturday night recently. We loved it! Our double and our friend's single room were perfectly appointed and nicely decorated.

The proprietors are warm, friendly and cook an incredible full Irish breakfast. Definitely spend the 6 Euros on it!

Galway's city center is about a 10 minute drive from the B&B, but definitely accessible. We will return, as well as tell friends about this find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were here for Saint Patrick's day 2011, Excellent place to stay the host is so welcoming and I have to say I will be returning, the room was lovely, spacious and so cosy. The breakfast was buffet style which allowed you to pink what you would like yourself which was a great idea, access to the house was no problem. The only downfall was that we had to get taxi's into the town but apart from that it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Atlantic View Guesthouse
Atlantic View Guesthouse
#112 of 187 in Galway
212 reviews
2.2 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#21 of 187 in Galway
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#12 of 187 in Galway
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#16 of 187 in Galway
480 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#56 of 187 in Galway
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Heights Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Heights Guesthouse

Property: Amber Heights Guesthouse
Address: 11 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Ashton House)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amber Heights Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Heights is a newly renovated (APRIL 2011) purpose built Bed & Breakfast. Located just 10 minutes walk from Salthill and the beaches of Galway Bay. Amber Heights is the gateway to the west with easy access to the picturesque landscape of Connemara, Clifden and The Cliffs of Moher. 5 Minutes drive by car or taxi will bring you to the bustling heart of Galway City. We are sure you will not find a friendlier, cleaner, or well equipped bed and breakfast in Galway. Amber Heights is a Non-Smoking B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amber Heights Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing