We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Review of McSwiggans

McSwiggans
Ranked #36 of 483 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: McSwiggans is a city centre bar and restaurant which has been open for over 30 years. We serve food in the bar from breakfast to early evening and casual dining in the restaurant on the top two floors until late. Specialities include steak, seafood and amazing desserts. We have a great section of wine, beers & cocktails with live sport on our big screen and live music at the weekends. With a labyrinth of rooms we cater to family gatherings, romantic nights out and groups of all sizes.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I came here with my friends for my 22nd birthday for dinner and had a great time here. The place is really big inside so is a great place for parties, and they have quite an extensive menu from fish to chicken to vegetarian. You can get dinner for around 20euro per person excluding dessert, and the quality of really good as well. The staff were quite nice, and the place was very lively. Highly recommend for parties.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lava Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    243
    75
    42
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Booked a table for two for 24th July.Have been there on many occasions in past including two graduation meals.Food was very bland and tasteless.My starter which was a seafood salad was poor....the sauce tasted sour.My partner got goats cheese and she just got a nibble of cheese.We both went for the beef in black bean sauce and both dishes were so tasteless and certainly didnt come in a sizzling plate as stated.Its just not good enough to throw such bland food at customers at reasonably high prices.I feel i had to comment as i was very annoyed and angry at the lack of effort put into the preparation and presentation of our food.We sat down to eat at 6.30 pm and there was no excuse for the poor quality food served to us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank iantimc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good service, good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

during our recent four day trip to Galway we regularly visited McSwiggans as the service was efficient and pleasant and the barman in the bar was always helpful. The acid test of a lot of bars and restaurants is that a lot of locals use that particular place and there were alot of locals using McSwiggans - I would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Mc Swiggans was recommended by the bar man at our hotel.
Not a long walk we ventured down.
Recently updated, the interior was nice: lots of stone and wood gave the building a warmth and beauty.
The food was really lovely. Well presented and not over spiced. Everything was very tasty.
The waiter was very helpful with suggestions, ect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks, once you get past the downstairs pub”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were confused at first, because the restaurant is upstairs from a pub. Once we got to the right place, everything was great. We were in the mood for steaks and were well rewarded. I had a 16 oz t-bone and my husband had a sirloin steak. Both were cooked perfectly and served with a brandy peppercorn sauce and accompanied by an excellent Malbec. Service was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McSwiggans also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McSwiggans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing