We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very lovely couple and cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
200 years old , a genuine and rare piece of Irish history with all modern comforts.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 years old , a genuine and rare piece of Irish history with all modern comforts.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
200 years old , a genuine and rare piece of Irish history with all modern comforts.
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
Bedroom 2
TV with Irish channels and about 40 other channels, BBC , Itv etc
Free range when available
Trampoline, swings and a hammock.
The nearby coastal village of kinvara is a beauty spot well worth a visit - great shops & cafes
Dungaire castle in the town of Kinvara.  Ancient monument, spectacular views well worth a visit
Burren dolmen, beautiful burren only 15 minutes away.
Burren hills.
Coole Park 10 mins away. Home of Lady Gregory friend to EB Yeats founder of Abbey Theatre.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Courtney...
1 review
“Very lovely couple and cottage!”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My father and I stayed at the cottage for three nights. We were in Ireland to visit and find family. We also did a lot of touristy things. It was a great trip. And the cottage was especially loved by my father, whose grandfather was born in a cottage just like that in Galway. We really appreciate that they saved this historical house. They also were great tour guides and were very welcoming. Five stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Stylish thatched cottage with a wonderful welcome”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is in an excellent location for visiting key places associated with WB Yeats, the tower where he spent many summers and Coole Park and the museum in Kiltartin. Because we were there for a sporting event in Oranmore, we didn't get to all three places and will need to go back. Some of our party went to the Aran Islands via Doolin and it was not too far at all.
The photos on the website do not do justice to this tasteful and charming cottage, which is very well equipped. Eamonn was very very welcoming and helpful, there was milk, tea and coffee, fruit waiting for us when we arrived, together with many other handy ingredients, which makes all the difference during a short stay. It was very convenient to be provided a crate for our dog. The only downside to Tonroe Cottage was there is one step in the building, which didn't bother us, but it could be a problem for some. Thanks a million to Eamonn and Tina for letting us stay in their wonderful thatched cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpbel
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is absolutely gorgeous with lovely attention to detail. The photos don't do it justice! The bedrooms are beautiful and homely and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need for your stay including condiments, tea/coffee, cereal, juice and milk. The washing machine and drier are particularly handy. Eamonn and Tina are wonderful hosts and couldn't have treated us any better. So glad to have met them - thanks guys. The animals are an added bonus. The cottage is on the main road, so it's easy to find and we didn't notice any traffic noise whatsoever given the thickness of the walls! Close to a range of small villages for provisions or eating out. And we did enjoy the banquet evening at the nearby Dunguaire castle. I have wanted to stay in an authentic Irish thatched cottage for a long time and my expectations were fully realised in Tonroe! Delighted that I discovered it and I do not hesitate to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M S
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adorable , authentic cottage.”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This was a real thatched cottage 200years old). The hosts were very gracious and thoughtful. There were lots of extra towels and blankets, books and playing cards for rainy days among other little extras. We wish we could have stayed longer. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Hi Marianne, thank you for staying with us and being such lovely guests. We really enjoyed meeting you and would welcome you back anytime, greetings to your family and hope you had a good journey home, thanks to Walt for his very nice note, Eamonn and Tina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertM40...
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Hi thankyou for your review and for staying with us. Just to let everyone know the road will be busy until September due to new motorway being constructed.it is due to open in September and the road will be a lot quieter then
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing