We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wards Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corrib House Hotel(Oughterard)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
21
23
18
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
23
18
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smalllower salthillsingle bednice breakfastlocation is greatcity centreguinnesspillows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 79 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Located in Salthill, Galway, about 15 mins walk to city centre (1.5 km), about 10 mins walk to Salthill Promenade in Galway Bay.

We booked in for a New Year's Eve 2011 weekend (two nights). I would classified the Ward's Hotel rather as a B & B than a hotel. It needs a bit of updating for a status of hotel but if classified as a B & B I suppose it's all right.

The room was on top, at the attic, very small but clean and cozy. The stairs are too narrow and too steep. The towels were in a desperate state. No heating in a bathroom, as it was cold and rainy during our stay, having a bath or shower was quite brave. There is a kettle for making a tea/coffee, TV with basic cable programmes.

We missed first breakfast as we got up late (breakfast 8am - 10am) but had our breakfast the second morning and it was simple but nice fulfilling Irish breakfast. The staff seemed to be nice and polite.

The Ward's bar is popular with locals and it's in a very nice traditional Irish theme. There is a large plasma TV screen with sports channels.

Car park is available at the back of the hotel but has to be prebooked (free of charge).

In overall, if you are not picky, it's all right to stay here. Thought it could be a bit cheaper (we paid e129 for two nights, couple, incl. breakfast) and it not be classified as a hotel.

http://www.wardshotel.com/

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel,if you could call it a hotel has to be the worse hotel i ever stayed in.First impression when we went in was the stale horrible odour.The decor in the room was so dated it has to be seen to be believed.Scratched old fashioned furniture with the dirtiest carpet in the bedroom.A television on the wall with wires hanging down .The bedroom window was cracked and we may as well have slept outside as the window frame is wooden and every noise from outside could be heard.Although it was the end of November the heating in the room was a little plug in heater so if you wanted a warm room you need to keep it plugged in.The shower in the bathroom constantly dripped throughout the night and was not clean.Bathroom in general was not nice and very dated.I will never stay in this place again,felt i needed to have a shower when i came home as i felt so scruffy.Dont judge this place by the photos on the website.Cant understand how it is allowed to be run as a hotel.

Room Tip: Dont book.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coreyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Decided to book this place for a night as I was meeting some friends for a drink in the bar downstairs. Pictures on their web page looked nice and it seemed great value at €70 for a double including breakfast.
Our bedroom was small but the en-suite/shower was tiny. Most of the other bedrooms were not in use. The doors were open and the mess clearly visible. Breakfast was poor and I am sorry that we did not skip it.
We will not be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Rooms aren't as they look in the pictures. Our room was tiny and the ensuite was so small it could barely fit the shower and toilet. The sink was in the room at the bottom of the bed. The door to the room would stick everytime it was opened and would need to be pushed really hard to close again. Decor needs to be updated. Won't be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melcharmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was a very friendly hotel with staff who could not do enough to make our stay really good. The rooms were clean and comfortable and were freshened up each day so we felt as if we were new arrivals. any queries were dealt with efficiently and quickly. The music on Wednesday night was absolutely great, and the bar was very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was relaxed, unhurried and very tasty. the irish breakfast was good, so were the kippers and the bacon and eggs. My son asked for things not mentioned int he menu - but the staff were happy to oblige. We had a fantastic stay. For comfort and friendliness, I would rate this as second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews